The Arrow Shot (One Stop Poetry Picture Prompt Challenge)

*The following poem is offered in response to the One Stop Poetry Sunday Picture Prompt Challenge. Today’s photomanipulation was created by photographer extraordinaire Claudio Mufarrege, guest interviewee for One Shoot Sunday.  All poets are welcome to take part in the challenge.


The Arrow Shot

If feelings could ever save me
Let it be right now
Birdsong evaporates to air
Your fall will not crash down

Life is no Titanic
Though barge in angles seem
Declining off corrosive walls
She spreads angelic wings

God, you think me simple
Love saves a human being
The arrow shot from Cupid’s bow
Piercing noble dreams


27 Responses to “The Arrow Shot (One Stop Poetry Picture Prompt Challenge)”

  1. Beautiful words, beautiful photo

  2. “Let it be right now”, let love save me (us) right now! Wonderful poem, Adam! I love how it slides into the unexpedted–”The arrow shot from Cupid’s bow/Piercing noble dreams”. Thanks!

  3. If feelings could ever save me…I really like that line

  4. the first stanza is a breath taker Adam…! how i love it..you are touching it with elegance and grace..Fabulous post!
    cheers my friend..and Merry Christmas..:)

  5. Eloquent and poignant Adam. Particularly like the line “God, you think me simple” Could mean many things!

  6. That pose of the figure in the photograph – it is like Kate Winslet in Titanic. And it does suggest an angle, and love. Good one, Adam.

  7. Lately I have been feeling life is Titanic…thanks for quelling my fears

  8. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Glynn Young, Adam Dustus. Adam Dustus said: I accepted the @Onestoppoetry picture prompt challenge: "The Arrow Shot" inspired by the #photography of @claudioar http://wp.me/pnd9L-1Xc [...]

  9. Beautiful images created through your words only enhance this fascinating photo.

  10. A good response to the photo prompt.

  11. Awesome poem Adam.
    I really liked the last two lines of this.
    Great imagery and i like that rhyme scheme too.
    I haven’t written anything like this in a while

  12. signed .............bkm Says:

    lovely dustus….noble dreams…yes we must hold these dreams…bkm

  13. Declining off corrosive walls
    She spreads angelic wings

    - Simply beautiful against all odds…

  14. An effective mix of the sublime and the prosaic, the complex and the obvious. I like the way the poem starts to spiral around the barge line, and then washes itself up on the conclusion with a nice feeling of inevitability and tension released.

  15. Yeah, she made me think of that iconic scene from “Titanic”, too. And, indeed, love saves a human being.

  16. I agree with Glynn, the figure does remind me of Kate Winslet, also. Without love life would be oh so sad.

    Thanks for your visit and nice comment.

  17. I love the layers of meaning in each line especially “God, you think me simple”

  18. Your opening lines are lovely.

  19. there’s a lot written in between these lines as well in yours adam…
    fantastic poem – love the opening lines esp. and also “lord you think me simple” – a lot just in this one line..would love to hear you read this

  20. Nice, simple and brilliant. Really enjoy your writing.

    And you’re extra awesome because you’re also an Adam.

  21. love the second stanza ‘Life is no Titanic
    Though barge in angles seem
    Declining off corrosive walls
    She spreads angelic wings’

    awesome write!
    thank you

  22. very deep, very well written

  23. Ah, Cupid’s arrow skewering noble dreams and a love that saves … fascinating. *wanders off, pondering*

  24. Very interesting take. I can see the woman as a figurehead. Loved the imagery in your poem.

  25. not that far from mine…I like it.

  26. The abstract art of the photo has translated very well into the words of your poem. I love the juxtaposition of the corrosive walls and angelic wings.

  27. Wishing for salvation – a beautiful hope, slapped with what I think, is reality. The contrast of imagery is splendid, the beautiful with the horrible. Such image, such symbol – lovely.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

