Honesty

Warm rain lingers soft
Upon the fair-lit lily stalk
Feeling giddy and silly
Don’t know what to do with me
All the pressure like the first time
I came to find that I’m losing
In respect given, pride taken

Out of my comfort zone
Treading turbulent water
Long solitary walks
There’s a lake in my dream
Waterfall splash and upward spring
Fringed by forest pine
Mosquito sting
Fire crackling, branches snapping
Inside I’m nervous-laughing
Hidden my true self
From youth all alone
Poems I wrote in exasperation
Dramatic jejune desolation
Until I awoke mid the core of fear
Kind heart of another most sincere
We finally met
A depression-thawed wonderment
Love no longer in my imagination
Joyous social-ineptitude disintegration
Feeling I’ve only begun
To discover and ponder
A true person beside myself
Who thinks my writing stinks
Yet genuinely obliged to offer help
And we fully realize life is brief
Beyond ourselves who knows?
Her opinion about my writing
I’m trying hard not to agree
Honesty, always a relief
People don’t know
You’re amazing to me

____________________________________________

To the kind readers of The Dustus Blog, an announcement:
Short story coming tomorrow entitled “Rob, Greta, and Derek”
I promise it’s very different! Hope you come back & check it out!
Thanks,
Adam
_____________________________________________

2 Responses to “Honesty”

  1. LifeTheWayItIs Says:

    Beautiful. Honest. Don’t know what else to say now. I like the poetry. Don’t stop.

Leave a Reply

