WordPress 24-Hour Trainer

Unlike the title suggests, I read WordPress 24-Hour Trainer through a course of many sittings. It took me a little less than a week to finish this book. So don’t plan to learn this all in a day, unless of course you have a photographic memory and prior experience with all the functions of the WordPress interface. Then again, it might just be me. While I don’t speed read, I also don’t read terribly slow.

While I feel the title is a bit misleading, this resource is worth it.ย  Debateable book premise aside, George Plumley explains everything clearly from major concepts to tedious procedures.ย  Having used WordPress for a while now, I thought I knew most of the features of this rather intuitive platform. Nonetheless, Plumley’s work presents many insights into optimizing content and planning posts.

WordPress 24-Hour Trainer begins by explaining how WordPress “thinks” from search engine standpoints.ย  Not only is this important for sharing work, in my opinion it’s really interesting. Sometimes, blogging books bombard readers with info while displaying confusing graphic figures. Not so with this one. It is incredibly easy to follow this teaching tool.

Overall, Plumley’s work is a great resource; especially for beginning bloggers. Also, this book comes with a great supplemental DVD, which enhances many of the advanced printed lessons and proves very helpful when configuring files and customizing.

13 Responses to “WordPress 24-Hour Trainer”

  1. sounds like a very interesting book, I am with blogger and fiddel about with the settings a lot, and adjust the html when I need to, thanks for this ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi William. I’ve never used blogger. WordPress is so simple to use that I never thought seriously about switching platforms. However, some bloggers who start out on WP have trouble altering the config file and setting security. This book helps with that and will show one how to begin customizing.

  3. Cool! Maybe I should get this for my wife, she is trying to get more traffic for her school by setting up some blogs for the homerooms …

  4. most new blogger go to forum to ask and get responses, I used the support link to learn something new..
    a book,
    never heard of until today!
    Awesome information!

    • Hi Jingle. I obtain a lot of useful info from Linkedin forums, as well as from blogs of course. Part of me is old-school when it comes to comprehensive resources, mainly because I jot notes in margins. lol

  5. Melissa Venable Says:

    Thanks for the review! I am in the market for new reading and training re: WordPress. Considering making the switch from .com to .org and will likely need all the help I can get. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That’s great. You’ll have so many more options and cool widgets to pick from once you make the switch. This book will definitely get you up and running fairly quickly. Thanks for the comment ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. wow, is it something even could understand lol

  7. I never knew this book was around. I will just have to see what I will do. I am OK with things, right now. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a fun week!

  8. moondustwriter Says:

    Thanks for the review. Been playing around with WordPress long enough- need to get serious!!! Sounds like the book can help

    • WordPress offers many options. Overall, reading this book helped me reconsider how I plan posts. Very helpful ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers, L

Leave a Reply

