Tears Inside

cover by Keven Lupien

cover by Keven Lupien @ 2pitch.com

Then there’s that fine line
History hurt
More strength from failed reply
Never give up, will always try
Even with tears inside
Seriously,
You’re not qualified

Burning canvas
Sat in silence
May be hell
Still want to fight this…

So sorry, Story
Wanted untold
Judgment passed
Buy what’s been sold

18 Responses to “Tears Inside”

  1. Thanks for sharing. A really good piece of writing. Very evocative.

  2. The first time I sold some of my photographs…I was amazed because the people buying them had ran a professional art gallery for years…I thought…okay so they’re going to buy one….no…they bought four…and all those years of bing critized, and put down when out the window…no need to burn the canvas…just recall that as an artist you will always have to deal with rejection…I still have a stack of rejections letters from various publishers….it keeps me in check when I get things published. 🙂

  3. Thank you, fellow writer. Lawrence, I hope all is well.

    • Thanks. I just listened to a couple of your Podcasts (episodes 4 and 5, Literal Heighs with the first movement of Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata playing in the background). I thought they were really well done.

      • Thanks. I think it was. I like music that’s in the public domain lol Just kidding

  4. moondustwriter Says:

    “more strength from failed reply” is applicable on so many levels
    Thoughtfully written Adam!

  5. Great points, slp. I think rejection bothers me less than failure to acknowledge our world has changed.

    Hey, that’s awesome you’ve sold photographs, even cooler that they were owners of a gallery!

    That “burn the canvas” line has a meaning to me nobody will get—one of my characters in SfaH burns his manuscript— an allusion to the book. I would never do that. Thanks, Man

  6. nice bit of writing adam, quality always shines through 🙂

  7. I think you’re right about quality, William. From your posts I know that’s honest. Thanks, Friend

  8. never give up…even with tears…really like this one…

    • Hi shakira. Thank you. I wanted to let you know that a couple of times I tried to leave comments on your blog & kept getting an error message. I know I’ve left comments before, so I’m not sure why. Anyhow, you rock. Have a great week! hugs

  9. this piece is really inspiring..beautiful and it took me places..especially these lines..
    Burning canvas
    Sat in silence
    May be hell
    Still want to fight this…

    thank you for sharing it,i loved the feeling that carried me within reading it..:)

  10. *snaps* somehow i ended up here, and i am so happy that i did.

    • Thank you! That’s great, as is your site. I like your poetry and images. Nice work. I’ll definitely be back 🙂

Leave a Reply

