Second Wind

Waking up every morning!
This life timed by dawn sun
Even when the sky teems with cloud
Imagination makes it warm

As part of these tree-lined back-roads
Lingering fire scent, bend frozen toes
Breath on hold will calm
And pretty soon you start to zone…

Momentum felt, reel
Sole to heal
Mindful today
Found musings
Follow sleek rivulet streaks
Water slides into curb drains
Idling cars
Smells of bacon and eggs

Free flowing thought
Give yourself a break
Lyrics crisscross
Run feeling great
Pace syncing heart rate
Returning cheer escalates
Letting go of all the stress
Prayers answer my clean slate

18 Responses to “Second Wind”

  1. moondustwriter Says:

    At your best!!!! My running days are over but feel the rush

    • Thanks, Leslie. I’m trying to keep a much healthier attitude. I started running outside today, and it totally cleared my mind of worry. Feeling much better πŸ™‚

  2. doubtfulpoet Says:

    Loved it. I wish I could get up in the morning like this. Such a cute photo too πŸ™‚
    Do me the honour of accepting a Lucky Lupine from me?

  3. Okay, your award post made me blush. You have an extremely kind heart.

    The photo… Well, my friend made me laugh after encouraging me to smile at least a thousand times. lol It’s my favorite picture because I love to laugh.

    You’re awesome. Thank you.

  4. I KNOW we will be seeing many amazing posts from you! πŸ™‚ Thanks!

  5. Absolutely! I keep a journal of jokes and humor brainstorms that I started over the summer. Sometimes I tweet that stuff. I’m working on something for a blog post. However, some of my jokes are downright filthy and would probably get me beaten up in a small club πŸ˜‰ I plan not to offend.

    Also, funny the image you posted http://bit.ly/b4Otyt

  6. this was fabulous friend, could feel the words in this post, well written as always πŸ™‚

  7. this cleared out my sinuses. lol
    Seriously though, i think this is amongst the best of yours i’ve read

  8. I imagine beat boxing must really hurt with a sinus infection lol
    K, you’re one helluva creative individual and nice person. If not for your encouragement, I might have stopped blogging last year. I can’t thank you enough.

  9. Sounds like the start of a GOOD day!

    • Hi Leslie. I realized I was spending way too much time in front of the computer without getting exercise. Well, no more. Have a great week πŸ™‚

  10. Adam, with a photo like that, how can I concentrate on the poem?

    Will come back to read it. lol

    hugs
    shakira

    • Hi shakira! Back when I was in college, my friend shaved my head, with my drunken permission of course. This photo also reminds me of thenβ€”a memory that cracks me up, but I definitely will never do that again. lol

  11. What a fun poem…the structure really modelled a second wind like when your running or cycling…and you suddently get the burst of energy…the poem reflects that quite nicely…thanks!

  12. Always glad to hear from you and to catch up on your work, slp I never tried cycling, but I had a former college roommate who went to the Junior Olympics for that. He said he used to live for those competitions and then just practiced cycling for fun after he was tired of competing. He was one of the happiest people I ever met. Okay, tangent over lol Thanks, Man

  13. I could use a few days like that.

  14. Hey Dennis. Funny… My mom saw this picture & asked if I was on Xtacy lol

Leave a Reply

