*sighs*

All she never dreamed it could be
Aware of her heart
For the first time
She’s free

Break from textbooks
bio, chemistry
Electing astronomy
Love her mythology

When detours alter
Doctor on hold
Feeling a pulse
Wonder she knows

Eyes downcast
Concrete earth
She never thought
His words could hurt

Missing family
So far this new home
Aspiration inspired
And thinking…
Her poem

_______________________________________________________
I took this photo.Β  The statue can be found in Downtown East Lansing.

13 Responses to “*sighs*”

  1. The poem fits this so very well. Your photo image is so very thought provoking and I LOVE it! The light pouring down the staircase behind the figure and she seems unaware of those possibilities and gifts, as yet. The detour sign pointing her that direction and her head is turned from it. I think there are moments that stop us in our tracks and keep us from life for awhile. Sometimes one just has to lift himself up and carry on………It was one of my greatest days when I learned, if I had but a day to live, would I spend it mourning the brevity or fill it with what I could. That doesn’t mean I can’t shed a few tears along the way.

    • Thanks for sharing that, Leslie πŸ™‚ I took that photo for a basic photography course at the local community college; 2 summers ago. I like how you explain the statue especially the detour sign. Your realization about how to live is similar to my own, though I don’t always follow it so well. Oh, wanted to tell you that the image on Yousei’s blog you painted looks amazing. I’m thinking about taking a watercolor class this summer thanks to you!

  2. Reminds me of the emotions I felt when I went off to college for the first time and the stories I would hear from classmates about their feelings and life. Excellent poem.

    • I had similar feelings when I went away to college. Overall, it was a very inspiring time in my life. Still, I think the greatest lessons I learned during those years was the result of meeting others I never would have meant if I stayed in my own backyard. Thanks

  3. Me got tributes and awards for you!

    Come over UNEXPECTED GIFTS FROM FRIENDS!

    hugs
    shakira

    p.s lovely poem and I really love the photo, YOU ROCK!

  4. shakira, thank you for all the nice things you said about me on your blog. I appreciate that. Ha! A Scottish award in honor of Williamβ€”very cool. I like his work very much πŸ™‚ Also, I read what you said about posting awards being just another tag. As far as I’m concerned, I’ve learned about so many other bloggers because of these awards. Displaying the links of people you enjoy reading makes it a good thing. That being said, of course I accept πŸ™‚

  5. doubtfulpoet Says:

    I know the feeling very well. This poem really got to me, the image you used (and I must say you have some beautiful sculpture pieces in your town) the look on her face, it’s all so tangible. This is probably what I look like (with an ipod lol) when I’m scribbling feverently in the cold in Finsbury park. Touched a nerve, and as usual I loved it.

    • Hi Beth πŸ™‚ Glad you liked it. I like writing at the park too and will finally get the chance with the weather changing. It’s been quite a cold winter here. That would be funny to see a statue sporting an ipod. Finsbury park looks cool (Thanks Google images). I appreciate all the nice things you say. And you’re right, we do have some beautiful sculpture pieces here. Enjoy the day!

  6. moondustwriter Says:

    So poignant. Should be on a plaque in every frosh dorm

    • Thanks, Leslie. Nice of you to say that. It’s funny b/c I passed by that statute this morning when I went to buy a bagel. It looked different to me today. Enjoy the rest of your weekend πŸ™‚

  7. you do professional job on poetry and graphics, I am excited to have you as part of our team!
    HappySunday!

  8. Thanks. I enjoy graphic art and am fortunate to have learned from some pretty amazing teachers.

    Thanks for including me. I’m having fun πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

