Dizzying Circles

Mechanical clown
Spinning around
The momentum shocks

News Carnival Flash:
My world feels rocked

Free falling in a dream
Bouncing sounds
Welter of screams
In no time for now

What gets recalled
Churning inside
Beseeching clouds
Glimpsing heavenly light

Pennants dance upon puppet strings
Body windswept over towering trees
Heart may burst when this afraid
Hair drawn back like cresting waves

When you can’t stand anymore
And may kiss the ground
Dizzying circles
Let me
down

28 Responses to “Dizzying Circles”

  1. Your poem brings back all my fears of carnival rides and the horror I feel even as I look at them…I suspect that my phobia about heights doesn’t help. πŸ™‚ Very good poem.

  2. I’m not too good about heights either, but continuing to desensitize myself to that fear. Still, I don’t suspect I’ll go skydiving any time soon, mostly never lol. Thanks

  3. Nice πŸ™‚ I haven’t been to many carnivals, but the few times I did go, I know I was scared πŸ™‚

    Good one

  4. Described perfectly! Love the top image to your poem.

  5. Yes the spinning top imagery works beautifully with the pace of the poem. You’ll never see me on those carnival rides either ! Life is enough of a roller-coaster for me !

  6. Hi Colleen. I have the unfortunate reflex of losing my lunch on those things lol Thanks.

  7. Great poem. I love the penultimate paragraph, as it seems to change the rhythm of the piece. (My opinion anyway). Hope you are well. I too fear heights.

  8. Hi Lawrence. I’m well. See what you’re saying about the rhythm change. Cool. So far, we are definitely not the only two writers afraid of heights lol. That kind of surprises me; though I have no idea why it should. Thanks.

  9. I am with Martin on this one. I’ve always been kind of chicken regarding these rides.
    Head spinning picture as well πŸ™‚

  10. I admit to being a chicken myself lol Fairs are awesome for taking pictures, especially motion shots. Thanks, Nicole πŸ™‚

  11. wooww…lovely poem Adam..
    loved the pennants line… it sounded like a tongue twister… simply marvelous..
    here’s a thank you award for you.. πŸ™‚
    http://megzone.wordpress.com/2010/03/09/poetic-resonance/

  12. Me got tributes and awards for you!
    Please drop by…..

    hugs
    shakira

    HAPPY DAYS ARE HERE TO STAY, LET’S DANCE!

    • shakira, your friendship has worked wonders for my self-esteem! lol Seriously, thank you so much for always considering me. I’m grateful πŸ™‚

  13. I will stick to eating all the good food and skip the crazy rides! I get tooo dizzy! πŸ™‚

    • Unfortunately I once found out that I shouldn’t drink too much beer before going on one of those. Look out below! lol

  14. I was on two or three times, always had my breathe held…
    Exciting poem!
    i feel like riding when reading it.

    • Thanks, Jingle. You’re too kind. I think if I held my breath, I’d probably pass out lol Have an awesome day!

  15. I loved the chariplanes and still do, shows were an integral part of my growing up and u friend have just brought me back happy memories, great post πŸ™‚

  16. Glad to hear that, William. It’s funny because growing up, my parents used to take me to the Jersey Shore to go on rides like thatβ€”the same place MTV filmed their controversial reality show. It’s definitely not the same place I remember from childhood lol Thanks πŸ™‚

  17. that looks like fun

  18. I enjoyed this piece. I felt like I was 7 years old again. I could hear the sounds, the blood pounding, it was great

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ Summertime carnivals are always fun. Good times. I went to so many as a kid that I feel the need to go to them still.

  19. simply awesome.

  20. Cool. Thanks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

