Maybe Mad?

Once so happy
Feeling sad
Mixed emotions
Maybe mad?

Hearing voices?
Seeing things?
Still don’t think
That’s what I mean

Nothing right?
And so it seems
Most crazy when
I question dreams

46 Responses to “Maybe Mad?”

  1. An enjoyable poem.
    fun to read

  2. beautiful poem.

  3. doubtfulpoet Says:

    Lovely! I have crazy dreams. I talked to my daughter last night. Pretty freaky think I need a holiday :p

  4. Sounds to me more like depression than dreams. Dreams are just an unknown thing to connect the pain from the depression to. Maybe it is because I watched 20/20 last night about children suffering with schizophrenia. They all related feeling like the above, literally. One thing that stands out to me are the question marks and I think that is a nice touch with this poem. Obviously you tapped my feelings with this one Dustus!

    • Oh.I keep a pad of paper next to my bed and write down my dreams and look them up in the morning because they always teach me something of myself.What I meant was that they are unknown and many that don’t follow this practice fear what they dream, at times. You mention in the poem “most crazy when
      I question dreams’ I was responding to that.”most crazy”. Not all of my dreams are happy and I pay special attention to those and usually find they are composed of something I am working on in real life! Not something to fear. The children in the feature last night on TV are suffering from messages they feel they receive from the outside but are actually functions of their brain that is different from ours and it is frightening for them and their families. Your poem could have been written by any of those girls. My heart goes out to them.

      • You are going to paint…..remember?I can hardly wait!

      • I’m looking forward to that summer class, but I should just start parting now. I took a life drawing course last year and enjoyed it very much. Funny, I really wasn’t into art and crafts activities growing up. I failed art in high school.

      • Leslie, that is heartbreaking. I used to teach in an autistic preschool as part of graduate research. Many of the children I taught suffered severe sensory issues that stifled communication. I think about that experience all the time and it definitely seeps into my work, kind of like a daydream lol. You’re right, those lines could apply to the girls. I had two other meanings in mind when I wrote those lines. More importantly, the kids I knew taught me/showed me the bare bones of language. I think the daily interaction of gesturing, signing, and prompting basic sentences has without question influences my work, as it had changed my years ago. Also, it is very cool to know you write down dreams and follow up on them. Thanks for sharing that and your insight. (In return, here’s a secret…I wish I could paint, but sh… don’t tell anyone) lol. Enjoy the weekend

      • Thanks Yousei and Martin πŸ™‚

  5. Do not be mad. You get wrinkles! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. your poems are always deep friend, are u suffering from depression? if so its evident in your work, nothing wrong with that, sometimes we need to air our views to feel better πŸ™‚

  7. You’re right, William. I used to suffer real bad from depression. Writing now is more like distancing myself from terrible old feelings. While it was going on back then I couldn’t understand it. No worries, I feel very good these days and hope to improve my spirits even further. Writing has been great therapy. I definitely air out through what I write. Most of the time I feel better immediately after finishing a piece. Sincere thanks, William πŸ™‚ Hope your day is going well!

  8. beautifully said!
    amazing poem!

    Happy Saturday from Jingle

  9. nice…enjoyed the flow of this one…have had a few wacked out dreams in my day…

  10. Hi Dustus, great poem. Have a good weekend.

  11. Hey, I love the pace of this…it really conveys the inner turmoil and confusion. I think to be challenged spiritually and emotionally and to run with it is a really great life skill to have. It takes courage. You know, rather than pushing it down some place. πŸ™‚

    • Hey Colleen. It does take courage. I find that in the pieces you writeβ€”very emotional, cathartic. Appreciate the visit and kind encouragement πŸ™‚ Thanks.

  12. sorry for the comments being out of order.

  13. Lol. This could be a poem about my life, maybe even every day. Clever but a bit sad. Thanks for sharing it and for the nomination. πŸ™‚

  14. i’m sure many of us have felt the same way you’ve described in your piece. simple, but very honest and accurate ~

    thank you for visiting my site, and i’m delighted that you enjoyed my poem : )

  15. Very clever poem….enjoyed reading it as always.

  16. awesome… superbb…
    i can so relate to this…
    good one adam πŸ˜€

  17. Don’t question dreams
    they often are more than it seems

    πŸ˜‰

  18. strong rhyme enhanced this piece. I enjoyed the read πŸ™‚

  19. I love this new poem πŸ˜‰
    Mad no,just normal as others πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the moment,my dear friend!!!

  20. Dreams drive me crazy lately..
    But I do love it when I’m visited by someone I miss a lot.. in a dream..
    It is sometimes hard to tell if it is true or it is just a dream weaved perfectly!

    Well.. this thought itself makes me mad πŸ™‚
    Loved your words Adam..

    • Hi Noha! Sometimes I wake up and think that what I dreamt happened and then I say wait a sec… I can’t go surfing today, I don’t even live in Hawaii. lol Seriously though, the dreams you describeβ€”I’ve had a few like that made me really question them upon waking. πŸ™‚ Cheers

  21. I like this…another crazy dreamer here.

  22. very beautifullly written.

Leave a Reply

