To Memory

All that I took
And never forgave
Too much my fault
Inner walls raised

From the start
Overrun
Still I question
Feeling dumb

Shine on lines
Crystal sheen
Heard absurd
Distorted schemes

So this is how
Must now proceed
Not granted taken
Over all I see

Winter changed
To memory,
Feeling uplifted
Beyond degrees

31 Responses to “To Memory”

  1. Memory is such a haunting thing. It stays with us, to remember, to forget, to feel, to love, to loose. It’s all there in a few cells in your brain. A haunting poem. Here’s hoping that all will be well again soon, and that the uplifting continues.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I like how you express your perspective (on memory): “It stays with us, to remember, to forget, to feel, to love, to loose. It’s all there in a few cells in your brain.” Powerful manifestations for only a few cells. Such is life

  2. I really love the lines “Too much my fault Inner walls raised”..it reminded me of how all of us (well that is a necessary statement to assure that one is considered somewhat sane) feel when go into a self-protective mode…nicely done!

  3. lol Definitely not my favorite mode to say the least πŸ™‚ Thanks

  4. This is really interesting Adam. That internal struggle and desire for emancipation from that which binds us is really nicely suggested. Love it !

  5. I think your interpretation sounds better than what I wrote lol Thanks, Colleen πŸ™‚

  6. i like as usual you cryptic style.
    This really is open to interpretation

  7. cool. Thanks, K. Enjoyed writing this one

  8. moondustwriter Says:

    Yes! I like the inner struggle going on. So much like life and relationships – eh?

    • LOL learn and live, or live and learn. Either way, it won’t be w/out at least some inner struggle. Thanks πŸ™‚

  9. “Feeling uplifted
    Beyond degrees” is so good! That is exactly how it feels when I leave something to memory, alone.

    • Think I may have used that line in a poem I wrote a long time ago. Not sure now thoughβ€”oh well, guess I’ll leave it to memory lol

  10. precise and direct!
    cool style!
    Happy Wednesday!

  11. You had me with this one right from the opening.

  12. Hard to always think before we do,just easier to do! πŸ™‚

  13. You said it. Not always good being overly self-conscious. Happy Thursday, Doraz πŸ™‚

  14. Deep and honest, esp. love the first stanza!

  15. Thank you πŸ™‚ Appreciate all the feedback. Have a great day!

  16. I like the third verse best ‘shine on lines chrystal sheen heard absurd distorted schemes’ this reminds how memory can play fickle tricks on us, that lines that stick in the mind, may not be remembered as they were once were said……… and perhaps that nothing is set in stone. very interesting. Good poem!

  17. Your feedback helps me. Thank You so much. I had some fun with those lines also poking fun at my own style. lol

  18. Thank you, T πŸ™‚

  19. Nice poem. I particularly like “Winter changed To memory.” I think the change in season really brings it to life.

  20. Ahhh, the best ones, like this, always come from that place we are almost afraid to hit Publish on. Well for me, anyway.

    I love the honesty and can sure relate to taking, not forgiving. And feeling dumb!

  21. Thanks, Jannie. I feel that way a little each time I post. I used to be much more apprehensive when I started blogging. I think I’m more comfortable about the process now, and def enjoying it πŸ™‚ Have an awesome weekend!

  22. I keep on reading your piece over and over again, not seeking better understanding for it, but I want my heart to totally drown within your words.

  23. πŸ™‚ Thank you! That’s extremely cool of you.

  24. Beautiful poem,my dear friend!!!
    I like the words that you write it!!!

    Have fun!!! πŸ™‚

  25. You have fun too!! I appreciate what you say. Thanks, Alina πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

