Beyond Yesterday

Hear I am
So far away
Perspectives, angles
Love each day

Lasting impression
Sight cleansing, golden, free
Silhouettes of ducks glide by
Sun spread over shouldering trees

*photo by me
Lake Lansing

47 Responses to “Beyond Yesterday”

  1. WOW.. great picture!
    I am already missing Michigan..
    Lovely poem, especially the first verse.
    Have you a great Sunday!
    hugs
    shakira

    • Pure Michigan! The image is kind of postcard like, though not as good as one. lol Glad you like it, shakira. Have a great Sunday! (still Saturday hereβ€”which is cool in of itself! :))

  2. awesome.. simply superb..
    geezzz.. i cant find anymore adjectives to compliment 😦
    absolutely marvelous piece of poetry accompanied with a breathtakingly beautiful pic…

  3. Yay! Your response makes me feel like I’m posting quality work. Thanks so much for that, Megz. Sincerest cheerios to you πŸ™‚ Have an awesome weekend!

  4. Just trying to read a few poems in-between packing items for the trip…but had to stop and read one of your poems….just love the image and flow of this poem…another fine poem.

  5. That’s really cool that you commented before hitting the road. Have an amazing time, Martin. Enjoy the trip!

  6. I do believe that photo can be a great postcard! πŸ™‚ Nice photo and nice words to go along for the ride! πŸ™‚

  7. i like this poem.
    lake lansing looks like a really cool, reflective place

  8. It’s a nice park, in Fall too. Thanks, K

  9. You are loving the outdoors, aren’t you? I have two poems that could use serious feedback. Up to it? They’re Space Telescope and My Lady’s Parting Song. Post or email your thoughts, whenever. Enjoy the outside.

    • Great! Yousei, I look forward to commenting on your poems this afternoon. Yes, I’ve been outside more since the weather has been nice. However, today is overcast and it’s the first time in a while I’ve been able to sit down and relish all my friends’ work. Already, I like both titles for your new ones πŸ™‚

  10. Well captured, Adam!

  11. Thank you, Kiera.
    I like your blog πŸ™‚

  12. doubtfulpoet Says:

    You keep on getting better! Really really breezy and light and lovely!! Hope everything is ok with you Adam *mahoosive Welshie hugs* Exams in t minus 1 week and counting aaaaaarrrrgh!! <3<3<3

  13. Thanks, Beth! I’ve been inspired lately. Feeling optimistic. And a *mahoosive Welshie hug* makes my day. Good luck on those exams. They’ll be over before you know it πŸ™‚

  14. Congrats on a (late) Week 12 award waiting for you at my blog.

  15. Thanks πŸ™‚ I appreciate that, Kiera. Have a great week!

  16. A lovely poem, and a breath-taking ladscape of lake lansing ; well done Adam.

  17. Lovely photograph and such peaceful words.

  18. Thanks. I enjoy taking photos of nature scenes. Makes me feel peaceful πŸ™‚

  19. Again such a lovely photograph. Maybe I should take Bethan’s lead and leave you massive Welsh hugs, but I don’t know if it’s wholly appropriate LOL πŸ˜‰ Serene poetry, again making me think I should invest in a SLR. Good work Adam.

    • LOL Hugs are always nice πŸ™‚ Yes, you should definitely invest in an SLR!!! Right away, you might notice a difference in picture quality just by using auto!
      Thanks, Shan

  20. wow, wonderful. lovely pic and beautiful poem. your choice of photography and skill is simply gorgeous. adorable.

  21. How cool of you to say that! So glad you’re enjoying the posts. Such reactions motivate me to write my best. Thanks, trisha πŸ™‚

  22. Great view,dear friend!!
    I like the picture and the beautiful poem that you write it too πŸ˜‰
    Thank you for share it with us!!!

    Have a great day!!! πŸ™‚

  23. Always great to hear from you, Alina. Glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚
    Have a great day as well!

  24. beautifully done!
    Thank you for the talent!

  25. Sarah Joyce Bryant Says:

    I love a photo accompanying a poem. I have been trying to do more of that myself. Do you find that a photograph just cannot capture the beauty of what you are seeing with your eyes? I am running into that again and again and I want so much to capture that beauty. This poem is great, as is all your poetry πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Sarah. I think the written portion of a post like this one is my attempt to make sense of the visual. I think it’s less of accounting for the beauty of scene and more about appreciating details I don’t usually notice. Sharp focused cameras definitely help the process. (Great to see you posting. Awesome)

  26. I read MANY great poems from individuals in March. It’s a reward in itself just to be considered alongside some outstanding poetic bloggers. Thanks and congrats to everyone posting. I’m happy people are enjoy some of my posts πŸ™‚ Cheers

  27. ‘Sight cleansing, golden and free’ what a descriptive line! I feel I have splashed my face with that beautiful refreshing water – breathtaking picture too by you !

    • “I feel I have splashed my face with that beautiful refreshing water…” Lynda, that’s the feeling I had the first time I read “Nothing Gold Can Stay”
      http://www.english.illinois.edu/maps/poets/a_f/frost/gold.htm
      “…Then leaf subsides to leaf.
      So Eden sank to grief, ”
      Brilliant! (my opinion) I think that may have been the first poem that got me into writing poetry. Reminds me of The Outsiders too.
      Have a wonderful day πŸ™‚

  28. Lovely photo Adam and smooth words to compliment it.

  29. Hi Colleen! Thanks. Glad your enjoying the work. I have one more good photo from that morning. Stay tuned. lol πŸ™‚

  30. Fantastic photograph, really atmospheric…”otherwordly” almost. I love the opening words too: “Here I am, So far away.” Great stuff.

  31. Glad you like it. It does look a bit “otherworldly.” Thanks, Lawrence. Have a good one!

  32. Many thanks!!!
    πŸ™‚

  33. Simple and well-worded writing. I also love your taste for rhymes…Keep up the good work.

    I’d love to introduce my blog to you, I got very emotional and soul-touching poems I guarantee you’d love;

    http://ediomoudofia.blogspot.com/

  34. Thank you for the introduction, as well as the kind words. I look forward to visiting your blog πŸ™‚
    cheers

  35. Hi there!

    A simple, beautiful poem..Loved the ease of flow of the lines.

    Keep writing!

    Regards,
    Pravin Nair

Leave a Reply

