Is This Thing On? (Flash Fiction 55)

Is This Thing On?

my friend Bruce
his fiancée Wendy
both lawyers
ridiculous how they argue
non-stop one-upping each other
excruciating to watch
before their wedding
Bruce drafts a pre-nup
Wendy promptly adds a “no-insertion clause”
…having met on Couples.com
I must admit
they certainly are quite the match—
Wendy repeatedly strikes Bruce until he flares up
thank you
goodnight

______________________________

Thank you to shakira, trisha, and jingle for the awards.

Particularly for his socially conscious posts, my nomination this week goes to wordwand

Share/Bookmark

*55 Fiction (nanofiction)

37 Responses to “Is This Thing On? (Flash Fiction 55)”

  1. Sound to me like Bruce and Wendy should think again before getting marry. Excellent poem Adam. I very much enjoyed reading it.

  2. You are good at this Flash Fiction 55, Adam! I hate to laugh at another’s arguements but the element of humor is there in this one!

    • Thanks, Leslie. I was telling Doraz a while back that I love to write jokes, but I was looking for a way to work that side of my writing into posts. Flash Fiction may be a way I can now do that consistently.

  3. LOL I definitely agree with you, Viola. I’m having a blast experimenting with Flash Fiction/poem. Wanted to see if the form would work well with quick, bad jokes lol

  4. I think you are doing pretty well, Adam.
    I love the subtle humor in this FF too.

    My dear Adam,

    Tara started a new game and I am TAGGING YOU.. please go to Wordy Wednesday @Tara Miller Writes to write the next 1-3 lines to a story yet told! Once you have done that, please TAG others too. Happy Thursday. hugs shakira

  5. This doesn’t sound like a good future. But nicely done, as always.

  6. LOL Definitely not the beginning of wonderful relationship, though you never know. Thanks, Anthony.

  7. you give me giggles when I see your awards being circled on the left, it is quite an art of yours…

    thank you for the nomination…

  8. a bride strikes his bloom,
    you too funny….

  9. Wendy promptly adds a “no-insertion clause” – Funny! I think we all know these people.

  10. mairmusic Says:

    Woah– sounds like they deserve each other! Succinct yet descriptive– nicely done!
    http://mairmusic.wordpress.com/

  11. wwooowww… lovely poem Adam…
    loved the lines

    /non stop one uping each other/
    heeheheeh cute 🙂

    i have awards for you dear

    Thursday Poets Rally ~ He’s Everything That I Need…!!

  12. Thanks, Meg. Experimenting with this new Flash Fiction form and enjoying it. Hope your having a wonderful day. cheerios 🙂

  13. woooooow! ^_^
    aweshome :))
    loved it !
    keep writting more would love to read 😀

  14. I definitely will! Thanks for the encouragement—much appreciated 🙂

  15. excellent – getting married & no insertion clause – isnt that what happens anyway LOL

  16. LOL. Great reply. I wouldn’t know.

  17. a funny poem.. thanks for sharing! 🙂

  18. CONGRATS to you. 🙂 I love your humor! I do believe people these days need to really stop and think before they say…” I DO!” lol 🙂

  19. http://itistimetothinkformyself.blogspot.com/2010/04/from-friends-to-friends-awards.html

    visit my other blog to read and comment for my 55,
    click on Jingle,
    awards are previous post!

    10Q.

  20. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Adam Dustus, Bartholomew Heaven. Bartholomew Heaven said: Is This Thing On? (Flash Fiction 55) « Dustus' Blog: (Flash Fiction 55). Is This Thing On? my friend Bruce his fia… http://bit.ly/9tG6BR […]

  21. Funny how couples match, this is a very nice 55words fiction poem…..I’d love to try it out……..You are doing quite gr8 with your works..

    I’d love to share a poem with you. This piece rest assured will inspire you and strengthen your faith…It’s more than just a poem, the message it passes is magnificent, take a look;

    http://ediomoudofia.blogspot.com/2010/04/gratitude-amidst-agony.html

  22. Thanks. Give the form a try! Look forward to reading your work.

  23. seems like ideal couple 🙂

  24. That may be true. lol

  25. Clever! you are so good at this Flash Fiction!

Leave a comment