Cannot Explain

Frozen eyelids stuck surmised
Rain calms down, so why can’t I?
Beads align upon the pane
Slanted slashes still remain

Breakdown
Never
Fails
To change
Mind that I
Cannot explain

_______________
Care for a Reading?

________________________
Share/Bookmark

43 Responses to “Cannot Explain”

  1. There is so much in life that we can’t explain, so we just have to keep going. This is an excellent post my friend.

    Dustus my husband is very ill and may be put into the hospital today so if I am not on for a few days you will know why and you will know that I am not ignoring you when you do a new post. Keep up the good writing my friend.

    Love Vi

    • dustus Says:

      Viola, my thoughts are with you and your husband.
      Please wish him well for me and send a quick update when possible.

      Love to you both

  2. Viola…..I will be thinking of you .

    This poem got me wondering. That is a good thing. πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend.

    • You always know how to make me smile, Doraz. In this case the smile is slightβ€”given what Viola just said.

      Have a great weekend!

  3. I often wondered why anger lingers….always seems to take some kind of intervention to release it in some way…like writing a poem about it. πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend!

    • dustus Says:

      Anger really is a wasted emotion. Poetic intervention… usually helps. You have a great weekend too, Charles.

  4. This sounds so much like someone trapped in that veil of depression that settles in. My heart goes out to them.

    • dustus Says:

      I echo your response, Leslie. Depression levels many good people.
      Have a wonderful weekend.

  5. blissbait Says:

    This is beautiful. I turned off my music and read it through silently and outloud. It’s true. I mean Your words. The Red Hot Chili Peppers call nervous breakdowns a ‘nervous breakthrough’. I agree. Much Love and Light and Many Thanks to You! Namaste. πŸ™‚

    • dustus Says:

      To look at such a moment as a breakthrough is the best possible thing to do. Anthony, Flea, & company, including yourself, are right about that.
      Thank you for your kind message. Made me smile πŸ™‚

  6. a lovely poem, vivid imagery and a nice juxtaposition.well done Adam

  7. dustus Says:

    Thanks, wordwand. You’re a kind individual, talented poet too.

  8. moondustwriter Says:

    Cannot explain….
    has this resounding echo

    Adam you know how to do a lot with a few words

    have a great weekend
    and love to Viola

  9. adam its a real beauty. simply fabulous.

  10. i like that line ‘slanted slashes still remain’
    Read out loud that completes the first part so well

  11. dustus Says:

    Sometimes raindrops look like beaded diagonal lines on a window pain; sometimes they look like clean thin lines. Have a nice weekend, K

  12. aaawwww….lloved it
    completely πŸ™‚
    simply awesome adam..
    happy saturday πŸ™‚
    cheerios πŸ˜€

  13. Happy Saturday to you too, Meg! Thanks.
    cheerios πŸ™‚

  14. Hi Adam, amazing writing as always.
    Have a nice weekend πŸ™‚
    marinela x

  15. Marinela, thank you. Have an awesome weekend too.
    cheers πŸ™‚

  16. Wow ! This is Great Adam ! I can’t stop reading it over and over ! πŸ™‚

    • Oh Adam, I meant to add…when you leave a comment on my blog, if I click on “dustus” it does not take me back to your blog, as it should ??? Seems there’s something up with the link …?

      • dustus Says:

        Thanks, Colleen. Not sure why the link isn’t working. I probably messed up something when dropping the comment. No worries. Glad you like the poem.

  17. tight poem adam…i have been there…

  18. dustus Says:

    Thanks for sharing that, Brian. Have a nice Sunday.

  19. Oooh really like the rhythm of this poem Adam!
    ‘Rain calms down, so why can’t I?’ is a good line and should be calming BUT…..
    ‘Slanted slashes still remain’
    suggests that there are unresolved issues, hidden scars. πŸ™‚ perhaps I am reading too much into the poem – but it thought provoked me (and that’s always good :))

    • Lynda, your interpretation is on pointβ€”one of the darkest poems I’ve written. Thought-provoking IS always good! I wish more people felt that way 😦 Anyhow, thanks. Insightful feedback.

  20. A little gift for you here: http://2a24.wordpress.com/2010/05/08/kindness-card-for-you-all/

    Enjoy the moment,dear friend!! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

  21. Have a week that will be full of many magical moments. πŸ™‚

  22. yes,
    I feel that at times.

    • Last week was extremely rough for me, Jingle. However, this week is brand new and full of possibilities. Let’s all make it a great one! πŸ™‚

  23. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/05/09/sunday-special-awards-for-remarkable-memes-and-participants/

    Meme participation awards,
    Sorry for being late.
    It takes me days to have everyone notified!

  24. No worries. I often wonder how you find the time πŸ™‚

  25. An Imperfect Servant Says:

    Well well, you’ve got quite a following, Dustus.
    I can see why, this poem is exquisite in it’s succinctness.
    You really left out everything unnecessary.
    Bravo.

  26. B, you helped me before anyone else did… thanks, respect, keep writing!

    http://ethotericthough.wordpress.com/2010/05/09/through-the-narrow-slit-of-now/

    • An Imperfect Servant Says:

      I can’t believe I was the first to sing your praises, Adam. Though I’m glad that what I have done has left such an impression upon you.

      • You 1st brought attention to my work by writing reviews & including me among some great work. I’m grateful.

  27. Succinct and straight to the heart with this one Adam. Break down, allows you to build on somewhat stronger foundations. That’s the hope anyway. All the best.

  28. Hi Shan. Thanks πŸ™‚ You reminded me of one of my favorite poetic passages…
    β€œHope is the thing with feathers, that perches in the soul, and sings the tune without words, and never stops at all.”
    β€”Emily Dickinson

Leave a Reply

