Getting Lost

Shore waves break
The washing draws away
With each moist step
Deep breath, new day
Taken to never mind
Jagged crags where hermits hide
Cool misty breeze, sifting land
Ocean spray, scent of sand
Seagulls perch, for meals they scan
Making practice from their plan
While capsized shells soak up all sound
Nature’s calling and you’re found

_______________
Care for a Reading?

19 Responses to “Getting Lost”

  1. Your poem gives one the feeling of peace. I live in Florida only 27 miles from the beach and I love going there early mornings or late evenings. You can smell the sand miles aways from the gentle breeze, and I love watching the seagulls, and breaking of waves. Oh, you make me want to go to the beach today. However, I can’t, have to take hubby to the doctor.

  2. I grew up near the ocean and it will always be a part of me πŸ™‚ It feels like Florida in mid-Michigan todayβ€”temp will be in the upper 80s.

    A nice ocean walk would be nice when Larry’s feeling better. Hope the appointment goes well.

  3. We love cycling along the coast for all the sights and sounds you capture here in your poem…nothing better the smell of the ocean and feeling it’s mist. Well done.

    • The smell of the ocean always brings back old childhood and high school memories. Spent lots of time at the seashore growing up. Always wanted to live in a beach house. Never cycled along the coast… got in lots of trouble though. lol just kidding.
      Thanks

  4. Hello Adam. I am dropping in to let you know Larry is back in the hospital. He is very ill again. Doctor Edwards believes it is his liver so there will be many test done on his liver. I most likely want be on the computer to much because I will be spending most of my time with him until the doctor finds out something for sure. Thank you for your prayers.

    Love Viola

  5. Thank you for letting me know. I’m so sorry. We’re all thinking of Larry.
    Viola, he’s in our thoughts and prayers.

  6. well put.
    Happy Tuesday!
    πŸ˜‰

  7. Thanks πŸ˜‰
    Hope you’re having a good one

  8. thats great stuff…big nature fan and you took me there…used to live 30 min from the beach in FL…

  9. I stood on the salty deck imbibing the ozone:)

    Cool misty breeze, sifting land
    Ocean spray, scent of sand

    Your poem makes me yearn for the open sea Adam (but alas I shall have to make through with re watching ‘The Onedin Line’:) )

  10. moondustwriter Says:

    I’ve always gotten lost at the beach – lost in another world

    thanks for writing – it’s beautiful

    • Hi Leslie! Happy Wednesday! Thank you πŸ™‚ There’s something about the ocean. Good tidings I guess (terrible pun) lol.

  11. I could actually smell the ocean through your words. Beautiful memory bringer.

  12. Awesome πŸ™‚ Thank you, Laura. Appreciate that.

  13. what a gorgeous beauty. i wish i could sit on that shore and just sit there, for a long long time.

  14. I also felt very much at peace with your writing. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

