“New Time” and Arts Web Show challenge

Darkness blankets fainting light
Recalling being scared at night
What was there except for fright
Fearing scattered sounds alright?

Comforter over nose and sigh
Calm may drift to happy times
So much forgotten, your mind rewinds
Friendly functions, temperature climbs
Wishing days begin new time

_________________
Care to take a listen?

Share/Bookmark

_____________________________________________________
My friend Kseverny over at The Arts Web Show presented a poetic challenge to everyone. Like the Megzone, I decided to try. The idea was to listen to the music and freewrite, let go, write whatever comes to mind the best you can to the following tune…
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4AvP1atLBuo

Untitled

Don’t conceal, Music surreal, rainstorms, sharp hail, original steal
Preluding piano, confounding emotions, destiny discovers melodic oceans…

Shreiking guitar, shredding sole, fading ripples, vibrato, echo…

Break thudding beats, snare kicking cleats
Aware of receits, incompletes, brain a blank sheet…

Space without sound all around
Earbuds pound, explode, mind overload
Rhythm driving, insides thriving
Minding the rhyme now slowly compiling…

(pause)

inspiring… Yeah finding
Can’t keep up the speed, jeez
Life too brief, what to believe
short and sweet, instincts deceive
So it slows, go, feel the flow
transitional projects in hall-lit glow
Tangling fingers, keyboard strokes
Multilayered, instrumental, all she wrote
When you choke, heart not fake though always broke
Continuous rhyme, no lie zone
Writing, waning light, energy subsiding
Will this end?
Will I know?
Understanding?
I don’t show

29 Responses to ““New Time” and Arts Web Show challenge”

  1. Lol. i read the top one first and was like “that has defnately been refined”.
    And then, ahhhh.
    And guess what, it shows how good a poet and writer you actually are.
    Because even though they were random thoughts.
    It showed a clear rhythm
    A job well done

    • LOL I found it maddening at times to keep typing it out while the music played (made me want to try speech-to-text!) It was a fun challenge! I used to journal write with music blaring in the backgroundβ€”this exercise brought back many memories of those days. Thanks, K

  2. I love them all and the timing is just right, has a beat that makes me want to do my happy dance. LOL You rock Adam. I am gong to let Jason read these he will enjoy all of them too.

  3. Happy dances are always good πŸ™‚ lol Thanks, Viola.

  4. whooaa..!!! i second sev i read the first and i was like
    jus 8 lines 😯
    and then i read it…
    brilliant Adam.. simply mindblowing
    the way your thoughts were completely poetic inspite of being random and completely in tempo
    awesome-freaking fabulous πŸ˜€
    *double thumbs up*

  5. Great poem Adam! some really good imagery and rhymings in there;-

    Tangling fingers, keyboard strokes
    Multilayered, instrumental, all she wrote
    When you choke, heart not fake though always broke

    Thanks for reminding me about the K’s experiment – I must have a try at this!

  6. Definitely give K’s idea a go, Lynda! Your poetry posts are fantastic, and this was fun to tryβ€”keeps the writing spontaneous. Can’t wait to see what the music prompts for you.
    cheers πŸ™‚

  7. Your ‘New Time” poem made me think of when children are afraid of the dark..and how they might express it….really enjoyed this poem.

    • thanks, Charles. Like how you phrase your reading of it. Think we’ve all had a moment like that growing up.
      cheers

  8. you are a very talented poet and artist
    that’s why day after day month after month people come to be inspired
    thanks for inspiring once again

  9. I’m grateful my work’s being read, Leslie. Thank you so much for the compliment. Write On! πŸ™‚

  10. Great Adam! I was waiting for yours. I really like what you came up with.

  11. Wow…you are brilliant as always and no wonder we forever come back for more. I find you so inspiring. Thanks for sharing:)

  12. on untitled…I could almost hear the song even though I had not listened to the you tube coverage of it. I think that means you did an excellent job of “putting the music into words”, if you will. Well done, friend.
    on New Time… childhood past presents itself in brief memories, not all good, but still marching forward hoping for better days…Is this at all what you meant? I enjoy your voice. Thanks for the double feature! Heartspell

  13. Hi heartspell. “childhood past presents itself in brief memories, not all good, but still marching forward hoping for better days” I did mean that, in this case prompted through a brief bout of sleeplessness that made me think back to being afraid of the dark when very young.
    thanks, insightful comment πŸ™‚

  14. very nicely said! great blog!

  15. Thanks for visiting! Appreciate your comment πŸ™‚

  16. You got it. πŸ™‚ This was a challenge. πŸ™‚ Hope to see more of this stuff going round. πŸ™‚ Have a fun week. πŸ™‚

  17. Next one, you have to try too! It was fun. I’m sure K will think of a new challenge for all of us. You have a fun week too. Keep us laughing, D πŸ™‚

  18. too fucking good! absolutely brilliant! loveeed! ❀

    would love it if you could check out my blog and tell me what you think the address is http://roorox3.spaces.live.com

    cheers!

    ❀

    • Thanks for making my day. I’ll definitely check out your site and let you know what I think. Cheers.

  19. very beautiful writing…
    Glad that you have learned something new.

  20. Glad to see you!
    Trying to keep a lifelong-learner’s attitude. πŸ™‚ Cheers

  21. both of them are fantastic.
    first one reminded me of my childhood days and the second one a crazy rock session πŸ™‚

  22. betweenhearts75 Says:

    I can understand the points of these – New Time: childhood – and into some events in my teenage years that still come up sometimes/ hard to wipe away but still pulling in the good and each new day, a big point in much of my writing – struggling to grasp that good, as there IS.

    The second Untitled was a wonderfully written the musical play on emotions…amazing. Its interesting how music can effect a writing sometimes. ~ Sometimes if I have a notion in my head to write about I’ll search for the music to set a better feel within it. I generally go with something peaceful in mind for writing, like Loreena McKennitt or Enigma (a bit of passion push) or Enya…the calm. If it contains struggle, I have to choose classic rock! =)

    Great work here!

  23. adamdustus@gmail.com Says:

    Hey April. Cool to hear about your process. Listen to my iPod all the time, but now I seek quiet when I write. Summer has been great ’cause just about each day I write outside at the park. I think the outdoor backdrop helps me. Listen to a lot of classic rock when I’m surfing the ‘net and in my car. Lots of “retro” alternative too, 90’s stuff lately.

    cheers. enjoy your weekend πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

