About Missing Home

Impressions form a story felt
See-through background dreams
Dappled gold the sun spills down
Not sure if I could leave

_______________
Care for a Reading?
______________________________________
Happy 4th of July!
HDR photo by me (taken in E. Lansing)
Share/Bookmark

56 Responses to “About Missing Home”

  1. You just wrote about a feel which I am currently feeling now. The good thing is, I’m going home very soon.

    You did well in making this feeling outstanding. I enjoyed this…another lovely photo.

    Cheers!

  2. Happy July 4th, Adam. Hope you enjoy the fireworks.

  3. Hey Em! Didn’t know you were traveling at this time. Hope it was all fun. Enjoy your return home. I’ve been bouncing around a bit this summer and feeling unexpectedly homesick. Thanks, Man. Definitely looking forward to some cool fireworks!
    Cheers

  4. Very nice. Something to which we can all relate.

    Have a great 4th.

  5. Thanks, Peter. Have a great 4th, my friend!
    cheers

  6. Happy 4th to you, Adam! What a beautiful homage to your personal home as well as a flavor of what a soldier may feel going off to Afghanistan, right now. An ode to the US of A. Simple and beautiful.

  7. Leslie, the photo is my favorite one… always wanted to try an HDR of that barn.
    Happy Independence Day!
    Thank You πŸ™‚

  8. Such a heartfelt piece about all that home brings to us…lovely. Sorry you are feeling homesick. But, I guess that means there was goodness there. Gorgeous photo and with the words, makes me wish to be walking toward those trees breathing it all in. Happy 4th of July! Smiles to you. Heartspell

    • Thanks heartspell. It was a nice 4th. Work up a little late this morning, a but dehydrated too. lol cheers πŸ™‚

  9. I so can identify with this….been living in Australia for 10 years now and still call South Africa my home. I go back every single year. Nothing like the smell of African soil…Warm wishes ~ A

    • Amanda, that’s quite a move from SA to Australia! Takes courage to relocate from one part of the world to another. Those homecoming trips must be really special πŸ™‚
      Cheers

  10. well done!
    a few words could make huge impact on others,
    that’s the magic of writing,
    have a fun July 4th!
    πŸ˜‰

    • Had a great 4th, Jingle! I’m recovering today. lol Maybe a little too much fun πŸ˜‰
      cheers

  11. This was excellent… AND many of us could very well relate to it too…
    Your 4 lines of brilliance touched my heart, Adam… great work!

    Have a fun July, and I hope you don’t miss home too much…

    • Thank you, Kavita! Glad you like it and relate. Appreciate that.
      Wish you an excellent July too! Thanks for visiting again πŸ™‚
      cheers

  12. betweenhearts75 Says:

    Well done! I’m always missing the roots of home. My mom, siblings, the area where we lived, the people who were regular familiar faces in a small town. I often revisit in my mind, family moved away from there so going back for real would be nice someday…to visit the old park if it has gone unchanged. =) ~Beautiful writing that took me back again…

  13. Can definitely relate to your comment, Aprilβ€”especially that last part about visiting places to see if things change. Miss my family all the time as well.
    thanks for sharing that with us, cheers πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Jingle. This week so far has gotten away from me a bit. Sorry fir the late replies. Hoping to post tomorrow morning.
      Thanks for being patient πŸ˜‰
      cheers

  14. I love your photo. I love your poem. I love home. It is a place like no other. I wish that feeling for ALL> πŸ™‚ Have a happy week.

  15. blissbait Says:

    Gosh, Dustus. Both Your photograph and the poem are SOOOO beautiful. As was Your reading. I listened looking at the photo and then with my eyes closed. Warm. I wouldn’t want to leave either. I particularly love Your line “See-through background dreams”. That’s just BEYOND rich. Thank You and Cheers and Namaste. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for digging the work, bliss. Your comment makes me feel good about myself. Thank you so much for that. Cheers and Namaste πŸ™‚

  16. sometimes less is more and in this poem that is definitely the case

    • Always appreciated, K πŸ™‚ I had two additional stanzas written and then decided one was enough.

  17. just gorgeous- both the pic and the words to follow.

    • Hey trisha! Thanks. Remember you saying you were going to do some blog surfing. these days. Enjoy and Have fun! Appreciate you stopping by.
      Cheers:)

  18. If only I could put my words together in the way you do here, I might just write and write for always. Well done.

  19. Thanks! That’s really cool of you.
    Appreciate the compliment.
    Cheers

  20. Doni Cifra Says:

    Doni Cifra likes this (thumbs up icon)

    the perfect literary bite. πŸ™‚

  21. that rocks dustus…leaving home is hard to do…even after a visit…there is just something about home…

  22. Wonderful flow, it just… all fits. Since it’s short, nothing’s extraneous, but it still manages to perfectly convey the right feeling.

  23. soulintention: signed .............bkm Says:

    love it Dustus, and the picture, well that is a visit home for me — grew up on a 200 acre farm in Minnesota – one never does leave home…bkm

    http://signedbkm.blogspot.com

    • That’s really cool. I grew up in the suburbs (NJ) and really like the farm landscapes in Michigan. Makes me think sometimes that time can stand still.
      Thanks.

  24. moondustwriter Says:

    I’m drawn to the barn wanting to peak around the corner and see your family. Tables spread with food.
    Adam you always create a complete picture – your poetry fills in the missing spots and creates the third dimension

    thanks for being part of 1 Shot Wednesday

    Moon Love

    • Leslie, the barn does look like one would find it out in the country, yet it’s part of the Michigan State campus. Glad to be a part of 1 Shot

  25. Hi Adam it is 3:30AM my time and I can’t sleep so I thought I would drop in to say hi to some of my friends while having coffee. I love your poem and picture, it makes me homesick for the old farm I grew up on. Life was so much simpler back then. So far the doctor has found out Larry has cancer of the throat. Now they are doing scans to see how far it has spread, and we are waiting for the report that will tell us if the cancer came from Agent Orange when he was serving in Vietnam. He can’t eat because of chocking but most of the time if he does get it down he throws everything back up. He is nothing but skin and bones now. Of course the nurses gives him Insure to drink but that comes up too. It look like he will have to go on a feeding tube if his stomach doesn’t soon clear up. I miss you all, but right now there idn’t enough hours in a day for me to keep up with all the reading, but please know you are in my prayers and I think about all you every day. God bless you Adam.

    Love Viola

    • I’m going to send you an email later today, Viola. We miss you very much. Larry remains in our thoughts and prayers.

  26. Hi adam…a great verse that stands proud on our One Shot Collection…i felt alot there (no these aint just words) i wrote about it on one of my past pieces…i left home over 20 years ago and i havnt stood a foot in the place that i was brought up in since..its not because i dont see my parents, i see them all the time its just the way my folks are, but i feel like a nomad, even though i have my own home, i still miss being there as a child and reminiscing…cheers for that mate

  27. Know that nomadic feeling, Pete. I’ve lived in 12 different residences over the last ten years of my life. Cheers on One Shot!

  28. Ilakya Spandhanaa Says:

    the feeling of missing home.. the longing to get back.. you captured the emotions right in the poem.. too beautiful!!

  29. Thank you, Ilakya. Enjoying your blog. Write on!

  30. this might just possibly be my favorite poem of all the ones you’ve written. your descriptions are beautiful. transparent dreams and patches of sunlight; i could almost embrace the nostalgia ~

    thank you for your ever insightful comments. i’ve found that recently my style’s changed from descriptive and wandering to pensive and direct. i hope i’m not becoming too personal through my writing…

  31. Thanks, Samantha πŸ™‚ I think your writing has been great with that edge of directness. Rule of thumb I use when deciding if writing is too personal: If you suspect it is, then usually it is; but get a second opinion. Appreciate your supportive comments. cheers

  32. Jessica Graf Says:

    Short and beautiful, sometimes that’s all it takes. Your comment inspired a new poem, #2, you should check it out!

  33. That’s really cool when comments prompt poetry. Thanks, Jessica πŸ™‚

  34. Lovely photo & lovely poem. So much said in so few words. I’m a fan. πŸ™‚

  35. very nice and lovely poem ty for sharing

  36. BEAUTIFUL on all, poem, photo, presentation. A+++ πŸ™‚

  37. This is so simple, and yet my eyes are filling. Beautiful, Adam.

Leave a Reply

