The Green Pool

Oh how this color floods!
For granted land
Nature still inspires man

Women dreaming gamut green
Couples hand-in-hand past spring
Segue from some real world scene
Living, learning
State of being

No watery grave
Flair whimsical blush
Spiral shoots, reflected brush
Bird song sauntering
Voice beams thrush
The green pool brings me
Pause over rushed…

_______________
Care for a Reading?
(photo by me – MSU campus)
Share/Bookmark

____________________________________________
Oh, pick me, pick me… Yes!
Hi Everybody, I’m hosting this week!
One Shot Wednesday

Post a poem, & share feedback.
*Sign Up Now!

88 Responses to “The Green Pool”

  1. betweenhearts75 Says:

    This is wonderful, I LOVE this! Excellent Adam! I’m very impressed in this, very well written! πŸ™‚ ~April

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Adam Dustus and April , Corbie77. Corbie77 said: RT @Dustus: The Green Pool: http://wp.me/pnd9L-1w0 […]

  3. Excellent, and that last line sums it up perfectly.

  4. Back from a coffee break, after stressing about code and trying to coordinate. ugh! deep breath….and exhale… whew… just kidding. Thanks April and Anthony! So nice of you to show support from the get-go. Cheers πŸ™‚

  5. Beautiful poem. Everyone needs a green pool to visit every day!

    • Definitely, though I would prefer mine optimal for swimming! lol Sorry, that’s summertime speaking out of turn again. lol Thanks, kirastann πŸ™‚

  6. soulintention: signed .............bkm Says:

    Women dreaming gamut green….lovely line that sets the scene…awe nature…bkm

  7. you are host with the most dustus! smiles.

    i like the couples hand in hand past spring…and hope to get there one day…

  8. As always, I enjoy this. Each line has its energy and power. Thanks – Bill

  9. Appreciate that, Rev Bill. Thank you!

  10. Beautiful poem! The last part captured the serenity of a peaceful pond.

  11. This is really beautiful you have managed to fll your verse with space.
    It’s almost like treading water

  12. Like the way you phrase that, Gwei Mui. I think of reflections on ponds and such that way. Thank you.

  13. You’re just too good to be true, Green Pool;
    can’t take my eyes off of you….
    This is so beautiful and I believe even if the gorgeous photo were not posted, the imagery of your words would bring this very scene to life. Well done. And the reading, as always, so wonderfully sublime. Thanks for sharing and Have fun hosting One Shot Wednesday! Heartspell

    • Great song/poetry! I like the Frankie Valli, and the Lauryn Hill versions. Anyway, appreciate what you say about the words being able to stand on their own. Images can tell a vivid story right away. Sincere thanks, heartspell πŸ™‚

  14. I admire you…this is just awesome, I loved it. The green pool brings me…peace!! Wonderful and your voice compliments it so. Thanks my friend.

    • Amanda, it’s individuals like you who make this part of the blogosphere an amazing supportive outlet. You’ve done so much to make new bloggers feel welcome, and me too… heartfelt thanks πŸ™‚

  15. That was outstanding dustus, I truly enjoyed this. πŸ™‚

  16. moondustwriter Says:

    What a beautiful (one ) shot Adam.
    I want to sit at water’s edge and hear this poem (with my eyes closed).
    The couple, the birds, the plants reaching for the sky

    couldn’t be better!!!

  17. Hey Leslie! Just read one of your microfiction pieces… Top-notch!
    http://moondustwriter.com/2010/07/26/shooting-stars-microfiction-monday/

    thanks πŸ™‚

  18. Very nice. I enjoyed the pastoral, gentle feel of this. One little nitpick is that where you have ‘Segway’, I presume you mean ‘Seque’

  19. That’s lush, cheery and DEFINITELY bright!
    This poem is bursting with positivism!! On one hand, green talk of vile stuff like envy, and on the other, when put so beautifully, it signifies such wonderful things!
    Kudos, Adam…

    • Hey Kavita. I didn’t get a chance yet to respond to the last comment you left, which was very nice. Forgive me… The color green has so many meanings attached to it. Didn’t think of anything remotely vile while there πŸ™‚ Relaxing spot. (also, very much looking forward to when you try a 55!)

      • You bet! Absolutely nothing vile here!! This post is all about peace and calm..
        And the 55… gee, I have been lazy, haven’t I ?:) Participating in 4-5 memes, I think I overdid it πŸ™‚ But I cannot complain, cuz I am enjoying every bit of it! Btw, there is a 55 thingie every Fridays…am I right? I think I am set for it πŸ™‚
        But first, One Shot… yet to finish that off for this week … heheh… excited about both now!!!

  20. Gorgeous imagery!

  21. Thanks, Mama Zen πŸ™‚ Appreciate you visiting!

  22. I really enjoyed the flow and imagery of this poem. The second stanza just carried me away to your spring-green world. I loved it.

  23. This makes me want to visit, Adam. Truly evocative! πŸ™‚

  24. I just spent some time at a green pond having some “pause over rushed” – thank you for taking me back to a favorite place.

  25. Ponds are inspirational, especially on a nice dayβ€”can totally understand the peacefulness of favorite places like that. cheers, Talon

  26. Excellent juxtaposition of text and image that evoke the senses and place.I do poetry for fun rather than publication so for this week only, I’ve nervously posted an example from each of my blogs: an Elegy from Scribbles and Diversions, a Gogyohka from Random Twitter Stories, and free verse poem from Random Short Stories.

  27. The green pool, a green cool oasis in a hot summer

    No watery grave
    Flair whimsical blush
    Spiral shoots, reflected brush….

    Wonderful picture and beautiful poem Adam! This place seems like a secret place – is it?

    • Hi Linda! Can’t help it… if one of my friends from across the pond mentions an oasis, it makes me think of brothers fighting. lol The spot in the pic is not very hidden. It’s just off a walking path along a river that flows through the university campus.

  28. so serene, i can picture koi fish leisurely swimming.

    aaahhhhh…i wish i were there!

    smiles,

  29. I like going for walks and runs near there when I can. It does have a serene feel.
    cheers, Jessie πŸ™‚

  30. Lovely pause Adam. I am a water baby and love all things related to it, your poem included. Happy One Shot

  31. Totally understand about feeling a connection to water, Katherine. I grew up near the ocean πŸ™‚

  32. “Pause over rushed” – a particular goal of mine & one that I actually achieve quite a bit. I highly recommend not rushing if at all possible!

  33. Absolutely beautiful, Adam. I like the reference to “Green Pool” which, in this day, can have multiple meanings only one of which is a literal pond or pool. Ilove this photo and am trying to paint a pond that reflects like this. I hope you don’t mind my pinging this post as the poem fits the beauty of the pond I am trying to paint.

  34. […] just ran across a beautiful poem about a pond at Adam’s poetry blog here. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)A Secret PlaceLittle Money TreeThe Gauß of Holy […]

  35. this is beautiful…
    paused over rushed// totally loved this line…

  36. Don’t mind at all, Leslie. Thank you πŸ™‚

  37. ..pause over rush…this is SOOOO peaceful and refreshing – and gives room – to breathe – love it..

  38. just awesome. wonderful piece. they really look very, very beautiful. can give their crystal clear sisters a good competition.

  39. Hi trisha. it is a beautiful spot, well taken care of as well. thanks for stopping by today! cheers, my friend πŸ™‚

  40. very descriptive piece…. I enjoyed

  41. The serenity and song of a wooded pond do make one pause for thought. Great thoughts here, Adam.

  42. Think I’ll always be a fan of serene pauses. Thanks, Monkey Man

  43. very stunning image,
    your words match it perfectly!

  44. Hi Jingle. Appreciate that! Hope your week is going well.
    cheers

  45. I LOVE when birdsong saunters. Great choice of verb.

    BEAUTIFUL pic!!

    xo

  46. Hi Jannie. Of course, birdsong sauntering always goes well with donuts and beer. lol Had to say that. Thanks Funster πŸ™‚

  47. Funny, I heard a different beat when I read it
    from the beat I heard when you read it

    This is a wonderful caught moment

  48. Hey Suz. Sometimes I read poems a few different ways when recording. I try to change things like beat and inflection to see what could work. Keeps it fun. Thanks!

  49. I read this two or three times. Your approach requires careful consideration. I liked the sound and wordplay; you seem to weave them together to create a third layer or subtext to the poem itself. Very effective.

    • Thanks, Gay. Your comment is appreciated; taken as a great compliment πŸ™‚
      Thanks for participating in One Shot Poetry Wednesday!

  50. Beautiful photo for inspiration or were you already inspired? Either way a wonderful lyrical poem. A lot of poets struggle with getting the ending wrapped up. — yours ending perfectly.

    Joanny

    • Thanks, joanny. I was already inspired, and so glad to interact with you through One Shot! Glad you like my poem.

  51. I love your photograph and the words that it inspired….so glad that you provided the reading.

    • Was telling Suz, some times the reading modifies it a bit. Part of the process, as you’re well aware, Mr. Martin. πŸ™‚ cheers

  52. Goodness, you’re here at MSU? I had no idea. I’m a senior on campus at the moment. That was quite a surprise!

    Excellent image, equally presented by the serenity of the accompanying poem. Sometimes, nature simply sings with majesty. Cheers on hosting the One Shot this week!

    • Hey Chris G. Surprise! Yep, live in the EL. Been here a few years now and enjoy it. That’s great you’re a senior at State. Read your bio… journalist-philosopher-photographer. One helluva resume your working on! Excellent.

      I’m going to add you to my blogroll and look forward to reading more. The poem you posted for One Shot was outstanding! Keep participating when you can, people are digging your work…

      http://cianphelan.wordpress.com/

      Cheers!

      • Haha, yes, I do like to keep things interesting. Writer’s the main goal–but journalism allows me to get paid for doing it. Glad you like the area–it’s a wonderful place.

        Thank you for the add, I’ll be adding you straight away as well. And thank you kindly for the compliments. Have a great weekend!

  53. refreshing !!! πŸ™‚

  54. You have got it going. I love all of your poems and photos. I can see that you are really enjoying life and things are good. Keep it going strong. Keep that smile on your face. πŸ™‚

  55. Things are good, D. No worries nor complaints. Happy to keep writing. Having a blast working with the One Stop Poetry peeps. Having fun!
    You keep smiling too πŸ™‚ Enjoy the rest of the week.

  56. Lovely poem and energy within it Adam and was thinking of visiting it and take a deep dive πŸ™‚

  57. You rock, Juliette. Have a great week and keep on writing! You’re an excellent part of One Shot! Thanks for sharing your words with us πŸ™‚

  58. Cooling green pooling
    cure for the broiling midwestern pan
    diving right in

    LOL–love that photo!

  59. I like it.
    So organic.
    If that makes any sense to you

  60. See what you’re saying…. Not an easy quality to understand, subject to individual perception… or not. lol More importantly, your show had been launched. Enjoy the moment, my friend πŸ™‚

  61. once again an exceptional piece and a great opening to One Shot Day..great work Adam…cheers Pete

  62. Pausing over rush! Yes! . . . I would go with K – organic poem – for me = arising naturally, not contrived. Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

