Riverrush

Dreams to be
Completely free
With no worries
Naturally…

Find myself here
Surge past nose
Fear disappearing
Sound drones “ohm”

Mesmerizing floating foam
Sinking feelings drift alone
Who am I? What do I know?
Two eyes stay open minding flow

While blood of course
And thought rebirth
Connecting life in joy and hurt
Opens heart to love and surf
River rushes over earth

_______________
Care for a Reading?

Share/Bookmark

One Shot Wednesday
Post a poem, & share feedback.
*Sign Up begins at 5 pm EST today!

99 Responses to “Riverrush”

  1. wow i am the first…i beat Miller LOL..great poem for One Shot..just spent a week by the flowing waters..brings me alive..cheers Pete

    • That’s just not right. Guess the host fell asleep at the wheel. lol Sounds like you had an awesome time, Pete. Well-deserved break, my friend. You’ve already done so much. cheers mate!

  2. ..mesmerizing floating foam…fast paced river flowing…open up for all kind of questions…love it

  3. betweenhearts75 Says:

    Beautiful Adam. Particular to your line “opens heart to love and surf”. Between “life’s joy and hurt” it still flows onward. Lovely! πŸ™‚ ~April

    • Thanks, April. If you have no objection, I’d like to add you to my blog roll.
      cheers πŸ˜‰

      • betweenhearts75 Says:

        Adam it would be an honor listed on your blog…I think, hope I listed you on mine. Your talent is a wonderful reward to read. I posted you DMs in twitter, lol, but figured your work deserved a second go-round πŸ˜‰ ~ Wishing I was not having the troubles with blogger however. Wonderfu writers I’ve read and really wanted to get comments in. Happy yours seems to be going through/some others as well…could be my computer because its not with all…maybe cache needs cleaning. πŸ™‚ ~April

  4. dang pete…he hogs comment boxes…lol.

    nice write dustus…quick paced like the river…went to the falls this weekend and the lower fals are angled smooth rocks…we used them like water slides…

    have also white water rafteed and if you ever fall in get our feet out front…helps avoid the hurt…but hurt and love are both part of the flow of life….

    happy oneshot!

    • Pete DOES hog comment boxes. LOL

      Never went white water rafting… I’ve gone lazy river tubing many timesβ€”much less harder to drop a beer that way. lol

      cheers, bri.
      Keep the One Shot Poetry Party going, my friend!

  5. You get the rush of it all reading this.
    excellent.

    • I grew up near the ocean and ever since have gravitated toward rivers and lakes. Go figure. thanks, Anthony!

  6. WOW..profound read Adam..love it..:)

  7. I appreciate how your poetry drives me through its lines. Particularly works well in Riverush. Thanks. – Bill

  8. Excellent and thanks, Bill. Glad the effect is not lost in the lines. Grateful for the feedback always. cheers.

  9. I have a special place in my heart for rushing rivers, some of my best childhood moments were spent on the banks with my Grandfather. Thanks for bringing the memories back!

    • Thanks for sharing your childhood moment. Great memories like that are priceless. You just made me think about my grandpa and just following him around, often stumbling in my grandparent’s back yard. I remember him happy. He didn’t always smile, but he always seemed to enjoy his own little tree-covered sanctuary outside. Thank you, kirastann πŸ™‚

  10. I really like this one Adam.
    The shot is great too

  11. Oh..this was so peaceful… Spirituality gently flowed out through those words!
    Seriously, when the mind’c calm, you feel like you are flowing in some stream, gliding, silently moving… smile on face… GOSH ! I can go on…
    In one word- LOVELY!

    • Kavita, emotional peace seems to be my overall intention at this time in my life. I’ve known for a while that’s why I write so much. Your comment being directed at the spiritual side of this poem makes me feel like I am growing as a person, and I thank you for that, my friend πŸ™‚ Sincere thanks.

  12. Hi K. Keep realizing your dreams… Your early success with the Artswebshow is cool to witness. Mad props on that. When I began blogging I thought you had the most eclectically creative blog I’d seenβ€”still think that. cheers
    http://artswebshow.com/2010/07/27/web-show-ep-1-cooking-up-a-battle/

  13. Good use of onomatopoeia to create the sense of being in the place with its feel as well as its sound. Then closing with your connection and beingness as part of the earth or the bed of the river itself. Nature to a degree personified on your own terms. Word play very effective. Well done.

  14. Beautiful flow…you have become the river of peace for this moment. Enjoy …I certainly did, reading this beautiful sentiment.
    The dream was always running ahead of one. To catch up, to live for a moment in union with it, that was the miracle. Anais Nin

    • Fantastic quote. Thanks for sharing your wisdom too. Makes me think of perception on delay / slight lapse before pain / catching up to one again / run on phantom legs. Had to get that out poetically, sometimes it helps me clear my thoughts a bit. Thanks so much, heartspell! πŸ™‚

  15. That’s kind and thoughtful of you, Gay. Thanks for saying that. Appreciate it!

  16. sinking feelings float alone….

    what visuals that line takes my mind…

  17. soulintention: signed .............bkm Says:

    Very nice you can feel the flow of the river and the rush of life and promise of rebirth….bkm

  18. I too love the flow of the river. It’s sights and sounds are indeed mesmerizing. Nice flow on this one Adam

  19. Rivers are great spots for relaxing, writing, and an occasional nap near to the sound. lol Thanks, Katherine.

  20. Riverush is a riverdream. Nice one, Dustus.

  21. This made me feel at peace…I enjoyed reading this…River rushes over earth..I love being close to water (live next to a canal flowing from the ocean)…it makes me feel creative!! So very lovely Adam. Thanks so much.

  22. There’s something life-affirming and mind-emptying about a body of water…and a rushing river really has impact.

    • Not sure what it isβ€”nature’s mystery I suppose, yes so life affirming. The drone and ceaseless movement are refreshing, inspiring too. Thank you, Talon

  23. I like being close to water too, doesn’t matter what season. Sounds like you are in a good place, Amanda, creativity wise as well. Happy to know that πŸ™‚ cheers

  24. Restful and exhilarating, all at the same time, like whitewater rafting.

  25. Adam…
    You make me proud to be from Michigan.
    Great Poetry Brother…

  26. Great ode to the meditative qualities of water.

  27. I liked the pitch and roll of the piece, very “river” like

  28. I love dreams and you’re right they always make us question who we’re, like we’re drowning in a fast moving river. So this was suitably titled..Riverrush. Nice one stop Dustus.

    • I feel like I drown in dreams sometimes…. I didn’t mean to suggest your title was not suitable, only that intentions may be deceptive even when expressing such was one’s intention. It’s part of the allure to your piece, as well as the subject matter. Think your writing is great.
      cheers my friend

  29. Your words swept me along in their swift and sure current. And you make the foam seem so enticing! Makes me want to find a rapid flowing river now! πŸ˜›

    • Foam is cool! lol That’s funny, think I’m going to find a watery adventure this weekend. Can’t write such a poem and then not raft, tube, etc…
      cheers Tony πŸ™‚

  30. i enjoyed the fluidity of this piece. for me it has a melancholy tone, yet there is still connection.
    thank you for sharing this.

    smiles,

    • Like much of my work, there is an element of sadness. I’m never sure how much though. Thanks for letting me know that you noticed it. smiles, Jessie:)

  31. I felt like I was rafting through life with this piece. I loved it!

  32. Rafting through life sure sounds nice; think I should try it first before making such a long-term commitment. lol Thanks, Caty πŸ™‚

  33. What a beautiful feeling I had reading this poem, Adam. Living my life completely free of everything that burdens me.. That’s a call for a free soul…

    • Hi Noha! Like the sentiment in your comment, a call for a free soul. think such a call echos throughout nature and reflections. cheers πŸ™‚

  34. Getting in the flow . . . poem and person. Quite wonderful. Thanks, Adam!

  35. Thank you, Jamie. Great to see you as part of One Shot Poetry again! thanks so much for joining the party πŸ™‚

  36. What a beautiful image you’ve created!

  37. Love the last two lines, Adam. What affected me the most was the rhythm of your words. I not only felt a pulse but the actual flow from line to line in my own reading of it. “Mesmerizing” was the feel and you are so talented!

  38. Your poem took me on quite a journey.
    A searching for ultimate freedom.
    The water metaphor was perfect.
    Water can be lifegiving. We birth from water, are cleansed by water yet it has unsustainable depths. It leads us to our unconcious. It is fluid, lucid, ephemeral. It’s course unstoppable. The moment it brings us always and inevitably breaks like surf onto shore.

  39. the last lines are truly beautiful. dreams to be completely free… tht is what everyone want. great poem.

  40. how ya doing?

    I’m just out
    and about
    checking out

    Links that is
    from the Funster’s
    button love links
    side bar

    Poems-just gotta love ’em

  41. Nicely done – very evocative.

    • Hey Kat! Always nice of you to make a visit on over here. You’re quite the busy artist these days. Appreciate you linking to One Shot Poetry! Thanks very much πŸ™‚

  42. Beautiful. All this thoughts came from the rushing river…see the wonders of poetry. I love the feel this gave me…nice one.

    Cheers!

  43. Hey Em… glad to catch up with you a bit through One Shot Wednesday! very cool of you. Wonders through poetryβ€”nice idea. thanks man. Cheers!

  44. mairmusic Says:

    You start out so spare and then each verse spouts more and more words– I love the simile!
    http://mairmusic.wordpress.com/

  45. anything having to do with water is right up my alley.

    “sound drones ohm” – that’s a beautiful line!

  46. Really like the decima formβ€”thanks for bringing into English πŸ˜‰
    Cheers!

  47. Beautiful imagery. I loved how you connected the fact that nature tends to take away feelings of I’ll and replace them with happy ones. It’s true though, and then we go off with the wonders of nature in our minds. Great poem.

  48. Soothing. Helps remind me to “go with the flow.”

  49. Great comment. For the most part, I was thinking about something similar to what you said when writing this oneβ€”after staring at the photo for a while and recalling taking it…. I think you’re right, we do go off with the wonders of nature in our mind, but I always question that. Thinking of Camus stating that our minds attempt to find meaning from meaninglessness… My poem does suggest that in part, but overall I don’t feel art is meaningless, nor the work of Camus especially his novels, which profoundly affected my life.

    Thanks, Corbie for prompting me to reflect a bit πŸ™‚

  50. Adam there is nothing like a peaceful river to make one feel alive. Did you know todayswriting.com is holding a poetry contest where you could win $100.00? I know you’re busy, but I do wish you would join & share with us.

  51. Sure πŸ™‚ Good of you to let me know, Rose. Hey thanks for dropping by from the Twitterverse for One Shot Poetry Wednesday! The support and communication between writers on there has been fantastic! Thanks so much.
    cheers

  52. The thoughts are so crowded, bumping into one another, pushing each forward, mixing, blending–like the river you reference. This is a poem that requires a careful, maybe even a second reading. Thanks for sharing and congratulations on the book.

  53. Thank you, Yousei. I respect your work and am humbled by the comment.

  54. When I closed my eyes, I could hear the water, see the foam. Beautiful.

  55. Thanks for the compliment, Sandra. Glad you enjoyed it.

  56. Loved it! The flow of the river and your words. JH

  57. Thank you very much πŸ™‚

  58. Cool of you to sayβ€”glad you enjoy the wordflow. Thanks, JH

  59. Wow, you took me away to where I am at home…the river! Love this!

  60. this is pure heaven. the photograph and the poetry. salutes adam! You are simply awesome.

  61. Ilakya Spandhanaa Says:

    Found this a rather tranquil poem.. I could associate the feelings expressed in the poem with meditative experiences.. just too relaxing and too powerful..!! πŸ™‚

  62. Hi Ilakya. I used to meditate every day and have gotten away from practicing lately. Think I owe it to myself to make time for that. Thank you for sharing your insight with us. cheers πŸ™‚

  63. as always, thank you for your comments and support and also for the piece of advice you gave last time. i think you have a good rule of thumb, but then again, all the best work is always a tad too personal, isn’t it? ; )

    lovely flow in this piece ~ i love the rhythm – and the rush of dream, love, and life.

  64. “the best work” is always a matter of opinion, and it really comes down to what the artist feels comfortable sharing πŸ˜‰

  65. when i was a kid, i really enjoyed going up and down on water slides, it is a very enjoyable experience ,`.

Leave a Reply

