Michigan Sunrise

Sky spreads serenity
Atmosphere melts
Peaceful fallout
Radiant health

Torch upon
Rich evergreen
Peaceful wake
Though it seems coincidence
Or purely dream

Crisp air fresh
Deep held breath
Golden sky on fire perched
Inspiring bold primaries clash colorcast

As if then calm
Horizon line glows
Contemplating celestial bodies
Philosophizing death unknown

Clouds that cool
Over volcanic hell
A beautiful moment
Eternal in itself

_______________
Care for a Reading?
(*photo by meβ€”taken in Traverse City, MI)

Share/Bookmark

One Shot Wednesday
Post a poem, & share feedback.
*Sign Up begins at 5 pm EST today!

87 Responses to “Michigan Sunrise”

  1. You’ve taken a breathtaking snapshot of sunrise with just a few well chosen and placed words, Adam. Bravo! πŸ™‚

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lisa Oram, Dovetail Partners, Suzy Starnes, Adam Dustus, Adam Dustus and others. Adam Dustus said: Michigan Sunrise: http://wp.me/pnd9L-1Av […]

  3. Thanks, Tony. It was one of those moments in my life (yesterday morning) when I felt struck and mesmerized by what I was seeing πŸ™‚

  4. You’ve described that Michigan sunrise perfectly. Beautiful.

  5. I would say this is an eternal moment just as you referred to it. What a gift you were given. It is like the heavens opened up to say “HELLO”. Thank-you for sharing, Adam. I like your poem very much, but this time? The photo wins!

  6. I agree, Leslie. The photo is powerfulβ€”my favorite so far.

  7. moondustwriter Says:

    Ahhh And this is Michigan
    you have caught a beauty in your words and photography Adam that makes one hold their breath in wonder.

  8. Thanks, Moonie. An aside… always hold my breath a second when taking pictures to try to avoid camera shake.

  9. Just one word – BEAUTIFUL!
    That golden glow, the peace, the fusion of colors… all so very well depicted! I don’t know if the poem did justice to the picture, or vice-versa! Amazing!

    I read your response to Moon… I too hold my breath for a few seconds when I am just about to click, lest I shake, and worse, the camera shakes!! Cannot afford that!! It’s almost like swimming, to me…holding my breath for too long at times, trying to focus on the image, to prevent any blur πŸ™‚

  10. Wish I could see it….awesome pic and poem Adam. (Your book is B R I L L I A N T !!!!!!) Hugs x

  11. Amanda, that was my first attempt at a bookβ€”your comment means a lot to me πŸ™‚ I’m extremely grateful. Thank you for reading it. You’re awesome. Hugs back at you X

  12. soulintention: signed .............bkm Says:

    clouds that cool over a volanic hell….nice line dustus…that is an amazing image…bkm

  13. thanks …bkm. Excellent to see you again for One Shot!

  14. That is quite a sunrise. Excellently done.

  15. It was a heartwarming moment for me, Anthony.

  16. I appreciate the way your form makes each line stand out, and flows from one to the next. Well written. – Bill

  17. What an explosion of color and word form you have captured here.

  18. Thanks, Monkey Man. The sunrise was amazing to see in person!

  19. ohhhh Adam..what a lovely piece ,this is truly priceless! i LOVE the photo..! is it taken by you? IT IS AMAZING shot! but hey,you are an expert ha..;)

  20. adam…this is beautifulllboth your picture and your words…breathtaking…i so love nature and you have captured it perfect…happy one shot!

  21. Some very nice lines. I particularly like “peaceful fallout” and “inspiring bold primaries”.

    Gorgeous sunrise!

  22. The time that almost stands still at sunrise. This is a lovely poem! I love the imagery.

  23. Ha! I love your “Poetic License” on the sidebar!

    In this poem, I especially like “Peaceful fallout.” Having seen a great many Michigan sunrises, this one resonates close to home for me! And, as I think I said on another post of yours, being able to hear the piece read by the author adds a lot. I really enjoy that.

    • Wouldn’t you know I had to stand in line at the Sec. of State all day for that license! lol I love Northern Michigan. Haven’t been to the UP yet. Definitely looking forward to that trip. Thanks for your kind words, Shay.

  24. wow Adam.
    Both pic and poem are fantastic

  25. I like the way you formed this, a serene sart thats stretches and ends as serenely.

  26. Wonderful shot! And the words you choose were BOLD and strong, evoked so many images. Awesome! πŸ™‚

  27. Om my god! That is such a beautiful sunrise Adam, that image is amazing and you described it here so well…

    Torch upon
    Rich evergreen
    Peaceful wake
    Though it seems coincidence
    Or purely dream

    Just beautiful Michigan sunrise…thanks for sharing with oneshot πŸ™‚

    • Your reaction to the post makes me feel good about it. Thanks, Juliette πŸ™‚ And thanks for helping to make One Shot awesome too! Appreciate the effort you make to encourage all of us. cheers

  28. Breathtaking – the photo and your writing…

  29. You captured that essence of sunrise beautifully, Dustus.

  30. A photographic portrait in words. Naturally I liked the option of being able to hear the poem! I’m one of those who likes to hear andread the poem. Thanks for dropping by. Mine is called I’m the beast that you fear, in the shadows of night

  31. missmary23 Says:

    The picture is beautiful and I’m enjoying the line breaks in your poem!

  32. a great worded piece of work to go with such a magnificent view..now you are gonna think i am sad…but…that grass was so green and lush i yearned to get my soccer ball out and have a damn good kick..cheers Pete (soccer..you americans..the word is Football get over it!)

    • That’s awesome, Pete. I enjoy playing football too (soccer). One of these days when I cross the pond, definitely going to attend some EPL games!

  33. …deep held breath…sigh..made me hold my breath as well – my soul lingering in the beauty of this sunrise and just let it happen…this was beautiful adam – and i wonder if you have taken a brush and painted the grass and the trees on your pic greener than they are in reality…

  34. ..enjoyed hear you reading your poem as well…maybe i should do this with one of my poems one day – you would have a good laugh, hearing my german accent…smiles

    • Claudia, the image has a hint of a painted feel because it’s an HDR image, which means the final photo is a series of combined exposures. Not one exposure can encompass a complete tonal range while shooting directly into the sun. Very little editing was done on this once the image was mapped together from several. The technique gives off a hyperreal feeling bordering on a glossy paint look sometimes, and I think that’s why I’m drawn to it.

      LOL German accents are cool. *smiles* and thanks

  35. I am mesmerized with the scenery in your poem, great wonderful read! πŸ˜€

  36. They don’t call Michigan, “God’s Country” for nothing do they? I see it has had its own profound effect on you as well. Again you have provided the word picture for us to be there experiencing that beauty and that sense of smallness but with an inner capacity to reach out to and link to the grand ineffable experience. Well written. Thank you.

    • Thanks, Gay. Can relate to your comment. Life in many ways can be viewed as a grand ineffable experience. Cheers

  37. What great imagery! I just love that last stanza.

  38. Thanks for the comment, Teresa. *smiles*

  39. Wonderful poem with such great imagery. Perfect for the magnificent photo above it. And i liked the others too.

  40. Nice One Shot – and nice shot, too!

    I’ve been having trouble loading photos today.

    Blogger changed (i.e. ‘improved’) something and now I just get errors. That’s going to put quite a damper on my photo blog.

  41. Thanks, Pattiken. It’s not One Shot Poetry Wednesday without you! Thanks for sharing your great work with us πŸ™‚ cheers

  42. Beautiful photo, love the intensity and passion of your poem, not just any ordinary sunrise here but “volcanic hell – a beautiful moment
    Eternal in itself”. Powerful never heard it described so eloquently before.

    Joanny

    http://thedowsersdaughter.blogspot.com/

    • Enjoyed your post, joanny. I always expect a wonderful poetic story with a series of great images from you πŸ™‚ Cheers

  43. beautiful poem Adam, and the pic is awsome :0

  44. Thanks, William. Good of you to participate in One Shot Poetry Wednesday! cheers

  45. mairmusic Says:

    the photo by itself is awesome, and your words capture the feeling so well– nicely done!
    http://mairmusic.wordpress.com/

  46. Enjoying your work creating with decimas, Marilynn. You have knack for using forms skillfully. cheers

  47. You are tooooo cool 8) 😎

  48. Soooo are you, D. πŸ™‚

  49. Adam, I loved this poem. It’s one of the best things I’ve read this week. Maybe any week.

  50. Very kind of you, Glynn. I think being a part of the One Shot Team and posting on the same site alongside Pete, Leslie, and Brian… an amazing experience. And being a part of Poetry Wednesday is inspiring each week.
    cheers

  51. great poem, great imagery… Contemplating celestial bodies / philosophizing death unknown … love it

  52. o nice πŸ™‚

    really lovely πŸ˜€ and the pic is so beautiful =)

    love nature poems πŸ™‚

  53. you are as good with photography as with your words !!! love reading you πŸ™‚

  54. peaceful and serene…

  55. fabulous photograph and wonderful piece of poetry. just fabulous.

  56. Beautiful picture with wonderful words to go with it, Adam. You have so many wonderful talents. You are blessed.

  57. Trisha & Viola, you’ve both always been there for me for a long time now with your encouragement and friendship. Thank you so very much!

  58. breath taking photograph….. beautiful write up…. you are so multi talented…

    viva la vida πŸ™‚

  59. Viva la vida! and thank you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

