Surreally Now (Flash Fiction 55)

Beneath bevel-edged glass, without bordering frames, walls of colorful abstracts pool surreally now. Don’t know what to make of it? Life, poor gaunt man spent priceless moments when study walls talked back; mocking yellow streaks between paintings.

Perspiring lead molecules, maddening thoughts joyfulβ€” what’s left of creation before illusions radiate nerves virally like cancerous growth.

_______________
Care for a Reading?

Share/Bookmark

______________________________________________________
*Dustus Friday post on One Shot Poetry set for midnight EST tonight!

24 Responses to “Surreally Now (Flash Fiction 55)”

  1. Quite frightening, really!
    Excellent 55 Adam.

  2. Thanks, Cin. Happy Thursday!

  3. Fantastic 55 Adam, I am with Cindy!! Hugs my friend x

  4. just dont eat the paint or the growth will be inside you too…nice 55 adam!

  5. I have to say that I’m impressed by how you play with words, Adam. I mean, seriously, I just read and reread this. Kinda reminds me of the way Bob Dylan plays with words too…

    • Funny story, Tony… My father made that comparison a couple months ago when I spoke to him on the phone. However, growing up I always heard him say he wasn’t really a fan of Dylan. Nonetheless, I certainly am! Awfully nice of you.

  6. moondustwriter Says:

    There’s more there than meets the eye. Like one of those mirrors in a fun house there are multiple reflections.
    Trying to figure them all out is … surreal

    Moon smiles

  7. I like how you gave life to even the wall between all those paintings…
    They do speak, don’t they? The walls, the paintings, all that creation…

    But sometimes, when mind (more like the subconscious) takes over matter (something beyond the scope of imagination), then scary things happen! And I think you’ve “painted that picture” beautifully here, Adam πŸ™‚

    It is kinda scary… but very poignant too.. and to be able to say so much in just 55 words is like WOW!!! Hats off to you, my friend…

    • Thanks, Kavita πŸ™‚ Your explanation makes a great deal of sense. We feel connected to artwork, but when it begins talking back and making one imagine they are sick… definitely scary. Going to try the 160 this weekend now that the weekend is just about here. Have a good one, my friend πŸ™‚ cheers

  8. wow – this is kind of a vivid, illusional, bit frightening and word-powerful picture you paint – i almost see the mocking yellow streaks – this is so packed!

  9. Thank you, Claudia. It’s been a fun challenge to see what can be done with a flash 55. I’m enjoying the writing of them despite the limited word count. Finding the form extremely cool. cheers πŸ™‚

  10. awesome piece.

  11. thanks, trisha πŸ™‚

  12. Excellent 55 Adam. I really enjoy reading your work.

  13. Thanks, Viola. Hope you’re doing well

  14. Perspiring lead molecules! – what a great line! the gaunt man is on the edge of madness mocked by the yellow streaks!! Good!

  15. Surreally now…I’m loving the title, and the chance to see you play with words this way. Do you know who this reminds me of? Alan Ginsberg. You’re talking to a gal who owns a signed copy of “Howl”! πŸ™‚

  16. Signed copy of “Howl”!!! I’m jealous. Read lots of Ginsberg throughout the years. I am a longtime fan of his and The Beats! Of that era, the novel that made me want to become a writer out of the sheer emotional reaction I had reading it was The Town and the City by Jack Kerouac, his first one. Reading it changed my life. Happy Sunday, Shay! πŸ™‚

  17. This Flash brought back a memory, Adam, not at all like the above comments, but wish to share. I had an Uncle who was the most wonderful and giving soul. He collected etchings and his walls were covered with them. He lived in a garage apartment and there was a beveled mirror to the right of the door. He passed away from cancer and it was a lengthy illness. I think of him a lot. As I read, this offered up a vivid picture of the last time I saw him. Sad, yes, but I wouldn’t have traded knowing him for anything and truly enjoyed visiting his apartment and looking at the etchings for long periods of time.

  18. Sounds like your Uncle was such a great influence on you, both personally and artistically. So sorry to hear about how his life ended battling illness. Thanks for sharing the special memory, Leslie. Means a lot to me, both sad and happy recollections. Enjoy your week! Looking forward to surfing over to your site to see your next painting.

Leave a Reply

