Anew Yesterday

You will know love
Being held snugly
Against old hearts
For many years
We disappeared
Family living
Split apart

Surprised filled eyes
Fear swept aside
Watching sweet giggles
Coo-drooling sighs

Mesmerized by startled tears
Attentive to her raging cries
Discovering inspired cheers
A warming glow had spread inside
Igniting hearts & sleepless minds

Anew yesterday
She helped us find
Connecting fond feelings
Reuniting our lives

_______________
Care for a reading?
*I took this photo & wrote the poem after meeting my niece for the first time. This post is dedicated to Jillian. (written on September 26, 2010)
1st picture baby pic
Just Cause (acrostic poem)
Share

_______________________________________

One Shot Wednesday
Post a poem & share feedback.
*Sign Up begins at 5 pm EST today
Wednesday Rocks!

104 Responses to “Anew Yesterday”

  1. Ahhh! “A new yesterday”! I will savor that phrase in association with a new family member. Beautiful poem dedicated to a beautiful young one! I am completely awed by the photo you captured of child and leaf! You are so creative!

  2. Hi Leslie! I had a wonderful weekend becoming acquainted with Jilly. She loves the outdoors. Miss her already. TY🙂

  3. New family members, always a humbling experience
    Cool shot.
    And this poem, awesome

  4. It’s wistful and hopeful and relationships reborn. Lovely, Adam.

  5. Amazing how a birth brings people together. My family is very lucky🙂

  6. Hurrah for family. Hopeful and beautiful–and your niece looks adorable, Dustus.

  7. love you how started this
    …You will know love
    Being held snugly
    Against old hearts
    For many years…
    sounds so comforting

    also loved to hear you read this
    ..and she’s sooooooooo cute!

  8. She is a cutie pie! Thank you, Claudia🙂

  9. a beautiful pic adam….you captured that moment amazingly and your hopes for her as well…yay!

  10. Brian, what a great few days!
    Thanks to you and the One Stop gang! Fantastic work you all did over the weekend🙂 cheers

  11. Oh nothing like a new family member to make one appreciated the world as a whole…made for a great poem.

  12. She warmed our hearts, Charles. I’m so glad we all finally got a chance to see her and reunite. It was a special weekend.

  13. moondustwriter Says:

    She is a beauty my friend.

    Love the words that encourage the reader to be joined not separate

    Glad I have the honor of being on a team with Uncle Adam

    Moon smiles

  14. Beautiful heartfelt words.

  15. If ever there was a good time for a celebratory poem, it is for events such as this. There is a very gentle kindness in your poem. Unity of cause seems to be a central theme here, and it works well with the subject matter. Very soothing experience.

    crb.

  16. I really believe you capture that pre-innocence, that newness and tap into the emotions we all feel in wanting to hold, cradle and care for the new life. The photo is a lovely addition. So beautiful, Adam. Thank you, Gay

  17. I have goosebumps, Adam.

    Beautiful, heartfelt, lovely like fern fronds tickling vines and grasses.
    ~xo

  18. so good…I wish i had done something like this for my son…

  19. Aw, this is such a sweet picture with a wise and wonderful sentiment. The little ones, they do have that way about them.

  20. Warm & fuzzy – in a good way. Well written, with good visuals.

  21. A Fathers love for his child is with what words are hard to come by, but you have done it justice. One shot to you

  22. Very touching, and beautiful – both baby and poem.

  23. Kids can do that to you! I read it then listened to your reading & was totally taken aback by the different tempo from the way I read it. This is what I love about poetry. It’s different for everyone.

  24. Your love shines through. Looks like she’ll be a charmer!

  25. But it isn’t until we hold those young new hearts that we realize how aged ours really are isn’t it? Loved the perspective with old hearts here, set the tone for a true love for life throughout the rest of the poem.

  26. awwww Adam, She looks too cute! God bless her and her uncle always..:)
    i feel new lives bring always new beginnings and joy..so happy for you.LOVELY ONE SHOT buddy..;)

  27. The photo is precious…love that wide eyed expression. And what a sentiment of love you’ve left for her in your poem!

  28. Hello Brian, you have a beautiful niece, and your picture of her is awesome. Your poem is outstanding and I agree with Timoteo yor love for her shines all through your written words. Hugs Viola

    I am doing fine my friend. My family and I take one day at a time.

  29. I am sorry , I meant Adam not Brian. Hugs Viola

  30. signed .............bkm Says:

    amazing the feels such a little one can stir within the soul….that delight becomes and is poetry….bkm

  31. Hey Viola!

    First off, how are you doing? Been thinking of you and hope things are getting a little better for you and your fam. Email me when you get a chance.

    You just made my day. Also, calling me Brian is a compliment—makes me think my writing’s improving🙂

    Miss ya.

  32. Your writing is fine my friend. I am doing fine, but I do have my good days and I have my bad days. I miss Larry so much, but I am pouring myself into my church work and also spend my days helping families who has a love one with cancer. I wrote a poem to send to the VA since they don’t seem to care our Vietnam servicemen are dying from being exposed to Agent Orange. I will share it with you. I think about you too Adam. You are a fine young man and I am proud and honor to have you for a friend. Hugs Viola

    A Widow’s Pain
    The loneliness I feel leaves me empty inside,
    Since my soul mate became sick and died.
    Alone in the darkness, I can’t control my tears,
    While in the day time, I do not show my fears.

    I try to be strong and help my family each day,
    As I pray the pain I feel will soon go away.
    At times I feel so angry that cancer took his life,
    Exposed to Agent Orange caused him much strife.

    He fought in Vietnam for what he thought was right,
    Our soldiers didn’t give up without a brave fight.
    Twenty two years for our country, he stood true.
    The damage the war caused, the doctors couldn’t undo.

    By Viola Jane Tabor

    Rest In Peace My Love

    Larry Eugene Tabor
    7/9/1944 – 8/1/2010

    • This is for Viola. My condolences, please, for you. I am SO saddened to hear of Larry’s death. Reading your poem, makes a cold heart warm.

      Yes, Larry–Rest in Peace, honored patriot.

      Thank you.

    • Viola, I’m glad you’ve continued to write poems to deal with your loss. I read your poem with great sadness, recalling what your family went through. The last two lines make my eyes tear.

      I am very proud that you are helping families with loved ones who have cancer. You’re a special person who understands what they are going through. Your actions are admirable.

      You’re in my thoughts and are missed.
      hugs

  33. A lovely keepsake for your niece.

  34. I love meeting new little souls. I wonder if we do all arrange these relationships before we get here?

  35. Aww, what a touching piece Adam. You can really feel your connection to your niece and I felt the hope in the renewal of new ties to the rest of the family. children can sometimes be a hidden blessing.

  36. lovely words. what a cute child🙂

  37. that is a very sweet poem
    ):)(:(

  38. Adam…
    You are such a rare talent.
    Brillinatly presented My Friend….Thank You

  39. This is wonderful! I just love the reality of you “coo drooling sighs.”

    Mine is here. http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com/2010/09/28/one-shot-wednesday-3/

  40. What a lovely story of redemption and reuniting…and all over a beautiful baby girl!

  41. Awww… this is so lovely – children do often have a way of bringing alienated family together. Saw it myself in my family earlier this summer, and the child in question was also my niece. Awesome one shot!

  42. Yep, I LOVE your One Shot. The ‘little Peeps DO have a unifying effect on us old folks…sometimes!

    Thanks for dropping by mine also, D.

  43. Nothing in this world like family and new family members my friend!! So much hope for her future and you have captured that picture to perfection! Makes me miss my own family soooo much after reading this! Thanks for sharing my dear Adam xxx Hugs xx

  44. I got a lot from this. Thanks.

    All the best, Boonie

  45. Lovely poem and Jillian looks adorable:) I liked:-

    Being held snugly
    Against old hearts

    It suggests a continuity, a hope for the future that the child carries with her

    you will know love…

    that’s just beautiful!

  46. What a sweet poem. I loved the part when you said “You will know love,being held snugly, against old hearts”. I also liked how the thought that a child can bring distanced people together. It is amazing how much children help us all to discover. Great One Shot!

  47. steveroni thank you for your loving and caring heart. God bless you my friend. Hugs Viola

  48. Gentle heart, words, soul…yours.
    Lucky JB:)
    ~shell

  49. Snugly held. I loved it. And she is so sweet..

    the middles makes it

  50. What a beautiful poem…a child can be such an amazingly beautiful bridge. I loved this poem, dustus.

  51. Nice One Shot, Adam! I love that ‘coo-drooling’ bit!

  52. awe mate she is a wee cutie, u did her proud with that beautiful poem🙂

  53. Oh, those cheeks! These new beings do have a way of bringing people together, even those who’ve drifted away. Heart-warming post.

  54. “Being held snugly
    Against old hearts”

    That’s really lovely!

  55. Such a lovely and warm feel to this poem Adam, i like it and love the little treasure additions in the family. The pic is so cute too, feel like cuddling her🙂

  56. a wonderful dedication to a new family member!🙂

  57. Adorable baby. very sweet words. babies are so good at bringing people together.

  58. I love that reborn feeling of looking into a child’s eyes and seeing the world anew. A beautiful tribute to new beginnings, the best kind. Thank you for this.

  59. New life and restoration – the trademarks of our God!

    Wonderful write!

  60. Woo Adam! This is really deep, you always hope that children will bring a family together. Wish I had that experience I really do! Missed you!😄

  61. Welcome Back! Your comment means a lot to me, especially on this post.
    Missed you too

  62. The dear one is a charmer for sure, and so is your poem, love how she re-unites the family with her purity, innocence and beauty.

    Sweet and tender thoughts woven into a really lovely poem.

    Cheers,
    Joanny

  63. Congratulations on your little niece, Adam!! Little children have a magical and beautiful way of bringing and keeping families together! Isn’t that awesome??!?!

    Very well captured in your sweet poem, Adam… I am SURE Jillian will LOVE this ode (Dedicated to her) when she reads it a few years later🙂

    Such a cute picture!

  64. Excellent moving poem. Glad you all get on well in your family (mine is split down the middle). Best wishes,

    Lawrence

  65. Its so beautiful and more so to me too as I also have a very adorable my brother’s daughter who I recently wrote about on her first birthday… which I would love to share with you some other time…

    I like the style, the way you brought the family around you, into uniting because of her… Beautiful.

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    I will great if you connect with me at Twitter @VerseEveryDay to read daily #FreeHaiku on love, life and longing

  66. Love the poem. Wonderful narrative. And I love the photo. – bill

  67. Oh……baby! A wonderful poem and shows the power a new baby brings. 🙂

  68. beautiful, this poem remind me of when my little sister was a baby. You took me back to those moments. Thanks. Donusho.

  69. one more link in the chain of life and time for us to reflect on what this means for them and us Thanks for reading and commenting on And binding with briars our joys and desires. Hope your week goes well.

  70. Appreciate all your heartfelt comments, and glad you all had a chance to meet the newest member of my family. Thanks everyone for making One Shot Wednesday a great community🙂

    Have a great rest of the week!

  71. I loved ur poem. Inspired me today. thanks to share with us🙂

  72. CUTE little niece — she looks like you, eh?

    I like the “old hearts” line. Such a loving solid feel to that idea.

    xo

  73. this is divine adam- a new side of you.🙂

  74. @Dryca glad you felt inspired🙂

    @Funster Are you trying to say I look like a big baby, eh? lol
    Thanks Jannie. Enjoyed your 55 and photos today🙂

    @Trisha. You’ve read enough of my work to know that—and always trust your opinion. Heartfelt thanks🙂

  75. Amazing what a little, so tiny and sweet life can do into ours. Right?

    Amzing one shot!
    🙂

  76. wow…so cool.
    a lovely weekend for you, Adam

    Cheers!

  77. Beautiful poem Adam.
    I loved every second of it.🙂

  78. I am SOOOO happy i found this blog!!!! I would love for you to check out my site Social Muze.🙂 We are all about art in all forms and your stuff would make such a wonderful addition! You can click on my “Creative Playground” tab on my blog to access it!🙂 I sure hope u will at least take a peak!🙂 I will be back!!!🙂

  79. Thanks, Kellie! I’ll check it out🙂 Appreciate you stopping by, and the kind invitation.

Leave a Reply

