Why I Weep… (Bookstains Poetry Challenge)

The Weeping Woman by Pablo Picasso

Why I Weep

…

How dare you!
Look at me this way
Is that what you see
When caressing my face?

Ruins of life
Can’t recognize me
Chewing on glass like a petrified machine
Crying out razor blade tears with ice peaks

Sacrificing love
Art suffering
Overwhelmed by thoughts of stroke
Between us there’s a missing piece…

When I held you many nights
Soothing each tormenting cry
My tears you paint as worldly truth
Unable to ease your troubled mind

__________________________________________________________

*For details about this challenge please visit Bookstains
& feel free to participate!
__________________________________________________________

One Shot Wednesday!
Post a poem & share feedback.
Sign Up begins at 5 pm EST today
@ One Stop Poetry

 

49 Responses to “Why I Weep… (Bookstains Poetry Challenge)”

  1. This is GREAT Adam! I shall put it on the Weeping Woman poetry challenge page immediately and tweet it! I lke

    ……Chewing on glass like a petrified machine
    Crying out razor blade tears with ice peaks

    I think your poem says quite abit about Picasso’s relationship with the weeping woman Dora Maar

    Between us there’s a missing piece…

    Its a case of can’t live with each other but can’t live without.

    Very well done – and many thanks for joining in – appreciated:-)

    • Thanks, Lynda, for both the fascinating prompts and encouragement. I find this painting to be very intense, as turbulent relationships can also be. Always look forward to Bookstains prompts🙂 Keep them coming! lol Thanks again

  2. Great poem! A very interesting piece to undertake, and interesting thing to use as inspiration. Picasso’s works do provide an unlimited source of inspiration, in any number of ways, depending on how one looks at them on a given day. Such is the marvel of the abstract. Such an emotionally sad voice/story to it…nice work.

    • Indeed, Picasso’s work provides “an unlimited source of inspiration.” Well said, Chris. You should try the next Bookstains prompt—always inspiring.🙂

  3. I like the way you address the content of the painting…well done Adam.

  4. a powerful poem for a powerful painting!

    torments of a troubled mind…

    have a happy One Shot🙂

  5. Cheers, Gariela. Look forward to your One Shot🙂

  6. Love the imagery. Very powerful.

  7. betweenhearts75 Says:

    Very very well done, I’m impressed more and more each time I read your work, what a great challenge. Oddly without the picture I could actually nearly envision the style of artwork. Stunning! ~April

  8. Is it the woman who weeps — or the artist? Or the poet? It is a kind of look backwards at a love that is now the object of art. (Adam, this one is good — and layered.)

  9. this is powerful adam – and i love the Art suffering – bull’s eye!

  10. Quite a challenge – successfully carried out.

  11. Told you Adam the romantic mood suits you damn fine..;) i just flow with your words painting sensitive images with master tools, Enjoyed this read my dear friend..cheers!🙂

  12. Great job putting story to painting, Adam. I’m sure it’s my perspective, but I heard Picasso’s mother, reacting to the painting he presents to her, saying, “Here’s your portrait, Mom.”

  13. Fabulous great imagery and emotion. My tears you paint as worldly truth
    Unable to ease your troubled mind-love it!

  14. You capture the emotions of the artist and the subject very well. Excellent.

  15. Dark, depressed but brilliant in it’s fragility. I adore the way you constantly pun on words throughout the poem, one for the mind as well as the soul Adam, brava!

  16. A very tough poem….bleeds….and fragile as someone else said.

    It’s wonderful you picked this Picasso painting as inspiration…there is so much in there to illustrate words.

    “Between us there is a missing piece”. Brilliant and far reaching.

    Your last line really speaks to Picasso’s torment. Think of what was going on in the world when he painted this!

    Lady Nyo

  17. I really enjoyed this, loved how you wrote from the subjects perspective…I’ve often wondered what they thought.

  18. Your words paint a picture that truly captures the feeling of the painting Adam. This is a powerful and beautiful poem!🙂

  19. razor blade tears with ice peaks…vivid imagery adam…love your word play…you nailed that pic..

  20. wow, I must say you did that prompt proud!

  21. Wow, you are a true artist!

  22. The painting is very interested Adam, and your poem is awesome. Nicely done my friend. Hugs Vi

  23. Great poem for the picture. You have such a great way with words–razor blade tears with ice peaks is just amazing!

    Mine is here. http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com/2010/11/02/silent-night/

  24. “My tears you paint as worldly truth”… Enjoyed it so much Adam. I relate to this very much too and your first lines got hold of my thoughts and feelings from past… thanks for sharing..

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  25. Your words well express the power behind the painting. One can feel the pain through your use of imagery.

  26. Awesome and GRITTY like the painting. I really like that line about the missing piece. I think you really have something there. It fits the imagery so well. Wonder if Picasso thought about missing pieces while painting this.

  27. my wife and i were only talking about this painting a couple of days ago…it used to hang at the bottom of the stairs where she lived as a child and it used to frighten her so much she wouldnt go down the stairs…happily her parents realised and moved it…anyway she loved the poem..well done mate..pete

  28. Sometimes that’s what love is about… emos flowing beautifully here

  29. It seems you captured everything that could be inspired by this painting in your words and your imagery. Masterfully done!

  30. Crying out razor blade tears with ice peaks

    I know what that feels like…thanks for putting into words. This piece touches me…even the title is powerful!

    I had a friend once write a poem called
    “Why is Annie Crying?”

    the Great Sadness…its captured here

    Killer piece Dustus!

  31. It seems like the story behind the painting.

    Nice One Shot, Adam!

  32. O, i like this.
    Deep and tragic.

  33. Such a strong poem, can feel it in my bones. A poem you want to read more than once. T

    I also work with poetry & images, it’s a collaboration. In case you’s like to take a look: http://www.heartonstage.com

  34. Dear Dustus,
    I am taking a break…but dropped by to enjoy everyone’s poem. And yours spoke true straight to the heart. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  35. It’s such an intimidating piece by Picasso but you delivered beautifully, Adam.
    Ruins of life
    Can’t recognize me
    — heartbreaking.

  36. Good mingling of emotions, creatively/poetic-truly expressed.

  37. WOW!!! very touching Dustus!!!while I was reading it, I really felt things…in my heart…like..I don’t know..pain?…definitely, the magic of poetry!!!well done!!!

  38. Powerful writing….This touches my heart.

    bits and pieces

  39. What a wonderful verbalization of the many ways one feels looking at cubist work. I’ve always loved this painting and I think you came up with something fresh and insightful in your work. Excellent. Thank you, Gay
    PS Thank you for being so supportive of mine. I feel a kindred spirit as I believe I’m almost always inspired to write by something visual too.

  40. The word choice in here is intense as is the relationship described. It is intriguing to find myself relating to some of the lines as if I have experienced such a relationship.

  41. […] Excerpt from: Why I Weep… (Bookstains Poetry Challenge) « Dustus' Blog […]

  42. Your poem sure does evoke the pain Picasso’s women must have lived with him.

  43. brilliant poem adam. your selection of words is amazing.

    Happy deepawali! May light, happiness and wealth shower down on your world and stay.

  44. after reading everyone elses comments .all I can say is that
    I just liked it!

  45. A great job describing the painting.🙂

  46. Adam, this according to me, is one of THE most powerful piece of poetry you have written!! It is simply brilliant!
    So well you have brought out the twisted thoughts of a tortured soul.. it’s spine chilling!

    Beautifully penned, my friend… Kudos!

Leave a Reply

