State of Detachment

Frigid air slapping face

Wind burning tender
Circular flakes…

Ice cured blanket
Back of eyes burning
Imagine a white board
So bright it’s disturbing

Taking time with nothing chosen
More than looks like scarf is choking
So say I run to want to be warm…
Until hypothermic shivers are gone

Discover comfort
Enfold in arms
Contented glow
Drawn by charm
Follow crumbs
Trusting darn
Never thought that
Emotions weave wrong

Just quit obsessing!
She won’t think of you
Keep pacing down the avenue
Still life twice frozen
Cold feeling removed
Struggling now
To say adieu

________________
Care for a reading?

__________________________________________________________

One Shot Wednesday!
Post a poem & share feedback.
Going on Now!
@ One Stop Poetry


47 Responses to “State of Detachment”

  1. Oh, but she migth think of you, mightn’t she? My incurably romantic side says so.

  2. Ah…a love lost and the process of trying to justify what happened as you walk away…nicely presented.

  3. Yes, I agree with Ben! She might be thinking of you…

    places

  4. Aw! Such heartbreak in torturous thoughts – longing, looking back, dreading what you’ll see if you do. Will she look too? Does she feel the same? Such questions we torture ourselves with…

    Lovely poem, though, Dustus! Draws up feelings I know all too well @_@.

  5. Anita Wakeham Says:

    The heart can become as cold as the snow, mine did. A wonderfully penned poem Adam.

    Anita.

  6. i so enjoyed hearing you read this adam – lots of emotions tumbling like snow flakes across the page – we write our hearts into words – thanks for sharing yours with us – it’s precious

  7. still life twice frozen…snap adam….felt this one through and through despite the lack od cold…smiles.

  8. Loved the journey, my friend, through cold and disquiet, loss and stilled emotion, into attempted acceptance, and the reading was just frosting on the poetic cake.

  9. You have a great reading voice. I could feel the cold!

  10. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Adam Dustus, Gay Cannon. Gay Cannon said: RT @Dustus: @Onestoppoetry New Post for #oneshotwednesday "State of Detachment" http://wp.me/pnd9L-1Wn #poetry […]

  11. I definitely just got a glimpse into a man’s mind. :o) Thanks for sharing!

  12. signed .............bkm Says:

    still life twice frozen….great line Dusus…stay warm….bkm

  13. I am impressed every time I come here..should make it an everyday habit🙂

  14. She is definitely thinking of you Winter man,these signs are for the soul to get..:) lovely write as always Adam..photo is fitting too..:)
    love the tiny snow balls falling in here..!
    Merry Christmas my friend..:)

  15. Luke Prater Says:

    I felt slap in the face from the harsh weather… well-penned, Sir

    Warmest Salad

    Luke

  16. loving and leaving dont always see eye to eye, dont they

  17. I think we jinxed❤ Looks really cold Adam, I hope there's a nice fire burning for ya🙂

  18. Wonderful! I was struck by “…emotions weave wrong.” and “twice frozen.”

  19. I have enabled the WordPress snowflakes feature on my laptop… and while reading the first stanza of poem, it actually looked like these snowflakes on my screen were hitting you :)… just for an instant, I felt kinda in a daze…

    And then you write about emotions .. trying to catch them, as if they were a source of warmth one tries to run towards in cold… I really liked that analogy a lot!! Very well pictured, Adam!

    Stay warm, my friend… heaters cranked up, a mug of hot cocoa/coffee in hand… that should help ease the pain (at least to a certain extent)🙂

  20. Written on a chilly day, in more than one way, I say. (Okay?)

    Nice One Shot, Adam!

  21. This just resonates with the raw cold blast of loss, Adam. I’m choosing to go with Ben and let my romantic optimism take over. Of course she will think of you!

  22. Gwylym Owen Says:

    Very good! “Life twice frozen”, great line. Thanks for sharing.

  23. betweenhearts75 Says:

    Why do I feel like screaming…NOOooooo, lol. Frigid fragile thin-ice heart…no! LOL ~Actually wrote something unfinished today of similar position, only I had to mix in the blend of warmth & peppermint kisses beneath a mistletoe, lol. NO I didn’t post…because of course I’m in a state of hmmm….lol…anyhow, excellent writing as always.
    Warmth, warmth, hot chocolate! *smiles for you!…*sniff sniff…its just the…cold, lol…yes that’s it! ~ hope you never mind my goofy humor, I have to do this to maintain sanity!😉 or something like it😀 ~April

    • Ha! With the exception of Jerry Lewis, humor can never be too goofy. lol I know exactly what you mean, April. Humor keeps me sane too… just wish I was funnier.
      Cheers

  24. This was a really cold poem. I actually felt cold as I read it and I didn’t warm up when you ran. Another poem written by a man today…telling me things i never knew were true. I only thought women thought this way. Things you live a lifetime without knowing..Huh! Well written, Adam!!!

  25. …Still life twice frozen…. absolutely beautiful. Loved that you added a reading, really brings the feeling of saying goodbye to life.

  26. Oh Yaa,

    Reading this bit –> Imagine a white board
    So bright it’s disturbing

    was incredibly satisfying. For real!
    🙂

  27. How sad, standing in the cold while getting the cold shoulder. Mine is here. http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com/2010/12/14/waiting-for-persephone/

  28. Chills of a cold heart, snow highlighting the bitterness. Well done once again.

  29. WOW!

    A powerful descriptive analogy — from a broken poets heart usually comes some of the best poetry written, and this one may very well be counted as one of them.

    It certainly made me feel the cool icy winds of the great North Eastern chilling winds in my bones and soul,,,, but then again in the recesses of my mind as I see the photo and you walking alone in the cold snowy night — I want to shout to you and say — remember that song ” If you can’t be with the one you love— then love the one you are with…
    Great Poem, wishes you warmth
    joanny

  30. WOW!

    A powerful descriptive analogy — from a broken poets heart usually comes some of the best poetry written, and this one may very well be counted as one of them.

    It certainly made me feel the cool icy winds of the great North Eastern chilling winds in my bones and soul,,,, but then again in the recesses of my mind as I see the photo and you walking alone in the cold snowy night — I want to shout to you and say — remember that song ” If you can’t be with the one you love— then love the one you are with…
    Great Poem, wishing you warmth
    joanny

  31. This was nice Dustus. I could practically visualize what you expressed. All the cold and the warmth.

    Cheers and Happy Christmas.
    Shail

  32. Brilliant piece!

    Cheers🙂

  33. I could feel the cold winds, breathing over me. Just how powerful the flow of your poem is. Great poem!

  34. thaw out that ice cured blanket, never know what the other one is thinking, ther’es always hope in the dancing colors of icicles!

  35. I’m not nearly as good at comments as you are….you should be a reviewer (not a critic…not fond of critics :-)) But I did thoroughly enjoy this…it draws you in. Wonderful piece.

  36. Hearing you read your poem takes it to a different level, Adam, because the amount of emotion in your voice transforms the words.

    It’s a startling poem, emotionally, and that a man reveals in such a raw way what men generally don’t do, is so intriguing. But being a poet allows so much more to our humanity I think.

    A strong, powerful, emotional and resonant poem that leaves a haunting.

    Bravo, my friend!

    Lady Nyo

  37. Scent of my heart Says:

    Listening to your voice reading the poem made the experience rather vivid. Winter to me is brutal season, connected to broken hearts and feelings, but the helpless romance I carry with me all the time says, there’s always a hope on the end of winter day to get the warmth we wish for! Very nice post! And thanks for visiting my blog!

  38. I wish I’d written this (from a female POV) especially the line “still life twice frozen.” Nice, Adam.

  39. Passionate write…good to see you write about love and emotions, I rarely see you do.

    Cheers!

  40. It’s all about that miscommunication thing between men & women. Why is it that we just cannot speak the same language? I bet she would want to talk to you, but is too afraid to start herself.

    Hey Adam, where did you get the audio clip device?

  41. I agree that “still life twice frozen” is really nice!

  42. Hi Katherine. The audio player automatically appears when you upload an MP3 file to a WordPress blog. It’s really easy. If you’re looking to do something like that for your blog, which I think is on Blogger, I don’t know how. However, Claudia just posted an excellent one I believe in Quicktime Movie format. I’m not sure if a player was required to post it…

    http://oneshotpoetry.blogspot.com/2010/12/i-would-write-you-love-song-moon-poem.html

    Cheers🙂

  43. Oh what if she thinks of you too? :)Go ahead tell her or you will never know.
    Beautiful poem..

  44. Good to see how the cold weather has had a positive influence on the creative side of life🙂 This had such a jaunty rhythm and Chrismassy feel until the last few lines, when the coldness took on a whole new meaning.

Leave a Reply

