The Connoisseur: Bookstains Poetry Challenge ‘The Art of Progress’


Standing in the Way
 

Dignifying Respects
Paid dues to just remain
Such maddening illusion
Norm standing in the way

______________________

*The above 4 Line poem is a response to the Bookstains Challenge called ‘The Art of Progress.’  I suggested the Norman Rockwell painting to Lynda as a challenge idea. She obliged, making it one of the options for the theme of progress.

*Click the following link to learn more: EchostainsEveryone is welcome to participate in the fun. Thanks, Lynda!

10 Responses to “The Connoisseur: Bookstains Poetry Challenge ‘The Art of Progress’”

  1. Very clever verse…thought it went well with the visual prompt.

  2. One of my favorite paintings, Charles. I’m a huge fan of abstract, Pollock type artistry. However, I think Rockwell displays just how amazing he was in a deferential manner—makes me respect him even more, even though I’m not really into his work. Cheers

  3. moondustwriter Says:

    I was just going to say that’s a Pollock before I read your comment Dustus.
    i never was as an art student – I didnt see the merit of throwing paint. That is the beauty of expression (so I’ve learned) is to have it your way.
    delightful words – Norman would have been pleased with your sentiment

    Moonie smiles

  4. nice verse adam…i dunno i am rather torn between progress and new ideas and there are a few things i would like to hold onto but i tend to challenge the norm

    • That’s kind of how I feel these days. I like classic things and enjoy how new technology actually works! lol Either way, keep challenging the norm—you always do so creatively & respectfully. cheers, bro

  5. Thanks for joining in my Bookstains Poetry Challenge (Progress
    http://bookstains.wordpress.com/2010/11/30/poetry-challenge-the-art-of-progress/
    A clever play with words Adam – I particularly like the way Norm ( Norman) and normality double up:-)
    Adding this immediately with further comment:-) Thanks yet again!

  6. Lynda, you’re the one to thank for thought-provoking challenges that prompt me to consider great art through a poetic lens. I love writing about paintings. Makes me look for details and themes in the images with a sustained focus. Cheers!🙂

  7. That last line would make a perfecttitle for this painting, Adam. 🙂

  8. Wow, for such a short poem you really packed a punch. I found myself reading it over and over again and smiling each time. It’s a joy to read and goes along with the painting perfectly.

Leave a Reply

