Rock & Roll Rushmore

I feel like nowhere, Man
Far from mountain hills
A much nearer Dakota
South of Strawberry Fields…

Background like The White Album
John & George gone & not forgotten
When all I need is love, so write then
Symbol of knowledge bitten beside them

Rock and Roll Rushmore
Watching over Manhattan Island
Some of the most beautiful lyrics to exist
Lennon and McCartney did write them
Even The Rolling Stones first number one
Though George penned my favorite
Here Comes the Sun

________________
Care for a reading?

*photo by me

Share

72 Responses to “Rock & Roll Rushmore”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Adam Dustus, One Stop Poetry. One Stop Poetry said: RT @Diana605: RT @Dustus: Rock & Roll Rushmore (4 #oneshotwednesday): http://wp.me/pnd9L-215 <- great! […]

  2. There’s a hole in my roof where the rain comes in…stops my mind from wandering….

    Everyone loves the Beatles, and “here comes the sun” is also my favourite closely followed by Eleanor Rigby! There is a reason I went to Liverpool Uni😀

    Your penmanship astounds me Adam, really deft use of words and song titles to express your meaning.

  3. Really like this one…lots of interesting elements in it.

  4. now it’s your fault that this song will worm it’s way through my head all night long…. nice one adam – and great read!

    All you need is love, love, love is all you need.
    There’s nothing you can know that isn’t known.
    Nothing you can see that isn’t shown.
    Nowhere you can be that isn’t where you’re meant to be.
    It’s easy.
    All you need is love, all you need is love…

  5. LOL I think that song is a masterpiece of influences with snippets from La Marseillaise to She Loves You (yeah, yeah, yeah). I’ve The Long & Winding Road stuck in my head b/c Shan sent me a you tube clip (good one too— Phil Spector Orchestration http://t.co/ax7KOS3 )

    • funny that you mention la marseillaise…in my last week’s osw poem i built in snippets from la marseillaise because it was written in strasbourg and i went there on a business trip.. allons enfants de la patrie…

  6. quite apt considering your recent move……Mr Paperback writer….very good use of song titles here…and a great flow…strong stuff my friend…pete

  7. Really enjoyed this one.. I’m a young’n & just getting into The Beatles. lol. great poem :]

  8. I love how this links so many familiar words and titles into a new and lovely offering. Made me smile as with each song reference it made an increasingly crazy mix in my head =)

  9. Love the Beatles and Norwegian Wood especially.. Rubber Soul.

  10. You threw some really good songs in there and mixed it in poetic magic!

  11. John and Paul wrote poetry, pure and simple. Even without the music, the words are incredible. So much wonderful imagery. This is a really nice tribute, Adam.

  12. dustus,
    what a great and skilful tribute to those great ones… I still find it hard to believe G and J are gone… but of course their strawberry fields……FOREVER!

  13. Adam, I love this. Rock and Roll Rushmore is the perfect title, and that’s what it is, isn’t it? I love how you interpolated the songs with the poem. And I love “Here Comes The Sun” too, though “I Want You (She’s So Heavy)” is my all time favorite.

    LOVED this.

  14. This makes me want to listen to the Beatles and makes me long to watch the sun make the ice melt. Like the song says “It seems like it’s been years since it’s been here”.

  15. Good stuff! What a nice stroll down Memory Lane. Talented writing in honor of some pretty talented song writers-musicians.

    Love the song titles mentioned, topped by the White Album!

  16. waystationone Says:

    this was a beautiful walk throughof some musical history man…some of my favs in there…nice one shot

  17. Oh Adam I loved it…really love, love, loved it! You should send it to Paul.
    One day (when we’ve had a round or two and you’re willing to forgive my excesses) I’ll share the long poem I wrote for John, the day after he died.
    Until then all hail the fab four! Gay @beachanny

  18. A loving tribute to men who shaped a generation, and a great deal of the larger society, with their talent. I think they did it because they never lost sight of what was fundamental and true. If I had to pick a favorite song it would be Lennon’s Julia–but Fool on the Hill is a close second. Great poem, Adam, thanks.

  19. Broke my heart the day Lennon died. This is a fine tribute Adam. Need to get my Red Vinyl LP out.

  20. All I needed was to hear the words…here comes the sun. Memories rushed in like gushing waters. Thanks for this, it’s lovely.

  21. What a difference a human voice makes in poetry. Your poem is good, Adam, but your reading brings it to life!

    I love the early Beatles…..Norwegian Wood was one of my favorites.

    I don’t think they wrote a bad song in the early years…

    Good, evocative poem, Adam…thanks for the memory lane trip~!

    Lady Nyo

  22. Wonderful! I am a huge music fan, so I especially loved this poem!

  23. Fun, effective music-affectionate work that tackles fresh territory (with an enjoyable oof).

  24. This one fills my heart with joy…lovely to read you again my friend oxoxo

  25. This made me smile🙂 Nice writing

  26. What a great poem! Certainly gave me a smile. Mine is here. http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/innocence-lost/

  27. I adore the Beatles, probably more after visiting Liverpool two years ago, fell in love with the streets, the accent, the air. This poem is a sweet ode to them, and the title is perfect.

  28. Ah, a poem built on some very delectable musical references – cheers to the Beatles, and to their wonderful musical legacy. Ever seen the movie Across the Universe? Beatles fans do tend to love it…

  29. Here Comes the Sun…one of my favs too Dustus….I was a senior when the White Album came out….oh yes….and you bring it all back…thank you…bkm

  30. I read you when you posted your poem much earlier today and just came back again to listen to you read it. Love it!

  31. I love it yeah, yeah, yeah, I love it yeah, yeah, yeah

  32. The one and only fan letter I ever wrote was to John Lennon. Your audio recording was “FAB” ~ I really love this, Adam. Thanks for ending my day with ‘Here Comes the Sun’ playing in my mind.

  33. dustus

    this is pure “bohemian rhapsody” magic — on line — the new cafe for poets .
    loved hearing your voice reading your poem The topic may be different but it reminds me of Allen Ginsberg with the five other unknown poets at the time gave a free reading & electrified the audience.
    “keep rocking in the free world”
    joanny

  34. Here you go Adam! a rocking post alright!🙂 as a die hard rocker, Lennon and the rolling stones shaped my taste for a long time, it is really impressive the way you used the names and places weaved in the core of the poem! FANTASTIC one as always Master..:)

  35. Rock & Roll Rushmore– I love it! “Here Comes the Sun” is my favorite, too, since the sun is a rare and precious thing in the Pacific Northwest. Nicely written, it made me smile… and want to listen to some Beatles tunes.

  36. I am not familiar with these songs but with the way you beautifully integrated their praise in a poem, I am guessing they are great!…well done Neighbor.

    Bless!

  37. randallweiss Says:

    This was a fun poem to read. I now have “Here Comes the Sun” stuck in my head.😉

  38. Just loved all those references. Now I have ‘here comes the sun, little darlin’ in my head–and that’s a good thing.

  39. Fantastic read as we travel down memory lane to an awesome soundtrack. Each and every reader will have a different reaction based on their own journey…that engagement is priceless!

  40. Nice, true, great write & photo!

  41. This was a really fun read with so many great references. Thanks for sharing & thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

  42. Love all the references and how you put them together in this tender as well as light-hearted tribute to, well, the best. Takes me back to some 45s I had of their early songs when I was a child. She loves you, yeah, yeah, yeah (Gee if I’d kept ’em, they’d be worth a fortune!).

  43. Love your creativity, Adam. Here Comes the Sun is one of my favorites, too but there are so many that I love without even including McCartney or Lennon solos.

  44. What a great tribute!

  45. Outstanding! This is brilliant! You took me down memory lane in less than a heartbeat. Real cool!

  46. Here Comes the Sun was/is one of my favorites as well. I’m old enough to remember when these songs were first released (one of the first albums I bought was Magical Mystery Tour). This poem brings all of that back, and in a good way.

  47. Super creative, Adam!! A really refreshing read! The culmination of music and fine lyrics is greatness in the making!🙂

    I see midtown effects here, in this poem..🙂 LOVED it!!!
    Have a great time in the City, my friend.. welcome to LIFE!!🙂

  48. Oh how creative is this poem..Very.. and very well written.

    Yes, I enjoyed this and although I am not a huge Beatles fan ( I know I’m the minority, it does not matter. ) This poem Rocks!!!!

    (Thank you for your time and words on my poem )

  49. Brilliant. Who’d have made that connection! Nice to hear it read, too.

  50. I love this poem!!! Music is one if my favorite things to read about. I loved how you magically weaved the songs together. Thank you for sharing.

  51. I really like what you did here and mixing in the lyrics was great!

  52. Also one of my favorites… such hope in that melting ice…
    I love the title you chose for your poem and the idea of the Beatles watching over the land…
    you haven’t missed a beat…
    no apologies necessary…. I have been absent for a while….
    thank you for visiting my blog…

  53. betweenhearts75 Says:

    😀 Very nice Adam!!! I like the idea of this “Rock & Roll Rushmore” sense placed to this. The pic really does hold that sense posted up high alongside the buildings! AWESOME!

  54. A very nice read…I like this.

  55. Here comes the sun… what a beautiful way to bring it on… I have loved this song and your words took me to a different world… thanks for sharing…

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com
    Twitter @VerseEveryDay

  56. Great tribute… and ending with my favorite also… Here comes the sun. Great piece.

  57. This was clearly wildly popular– great job. I love the idea of a rock and roll Rushmore– and it seems to me you could have quite a bit of fun with developing this idea. Here Comes the Sun– to listen to the song, read the lyrics, might make a good prompt– thanks for your perceptive comments about the snakes in my poem…. in some cases tongue in cheek and then of course the Edenic undercurrents when a poet writes of snakes—xxxj

  58. Lovely write ..new idea ..Rock & Roll Rushmore!

  59. I think this would work better for me if I got all the allusions, but it does make me want to learn more about the Beatles.🙂

  60. There is a lot of great pictures on your blog. I enjoy looking at your work, it inspires me – Thank you for sharing

  61. Dustus, I am a huge Beatles fan, John and George being my favourites.
    I lived in Manhattan when John was killed. A horrible day.

  62. Love “Rock and Roll Rushmore”! The Beatles will never die – they have inspired SO many musicians, my son one of them.

  63. I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed this poem, White album and all, you give life to what Paul mean when he wrote, “take these broken wings and learn to fly” Write On!!

  64. I liked it! 🙂 Great use of titles and names. Very nice.

  65. That was really good. I felt i was right there with you. The reading took it to a diff level. Though McCartney penned my fav… “Let it be”

  66. Clever. I really enjoy the rushmore reference and No where man is still a fav.

  67. Oh! You take me back to my college days! Thank you for this poem, Adam!

  68. I totally agree with you that some of the best ones have been written by Paul and lennon..love -here comes the sun too.

  69. Check out my blog which posted this poem: globalgonzo.blogspot

Leave a Reply

