Freudian Slips

*The following poem is offered in response to the One Stop Poetry Sunday Picture Prompt Challenge. This wonderful prompt was shot by photographer Mike Roemer. His incredible photography is featured today on One Shoot Photography Sunday.

A woman so stunning
Hard-pressed to deny

Smoke plumes from her kissy face

Still beauty wanes with passing time

Yet honestly, don’t think she’s my type
Preferring nerds who paint and lie
Bent over more than Freudian slips
Tingling from both mind and lips

______________________________________________________________________________________
One Stop Poetry is up for a Shorty Award in both the #ART and #POETRY categories. If you wish to show your support, click on the logo & tweet your vote. (*You have to be a twitter user prior to start of this contest & MUST PROVIDE A REASON IN YOUR VOTE. You CAN vote for @ONESTOPPOETRY in both categories). Thank you!

37 Responses to “Freudian Slips”

  1. awesome peom! Brilliant image.

  2. Brilliantly paired with the image. Love this!

  3. Love the match of image and words.

  4. i especially like your second verse, Adam. a very clever use of words ~ i wonder if i’m reading it the way you meant it? nice!

  5. nice – kissy face and tingling from mind and lips….and I thought the photo only made me blush enough! – whoowee, adam🙂

  6. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Adam Dustus and Adam Dustus, One Stop Poetry. One Stop Poetry said: RT @Dustus: I just took the @Onestoppoetry Picture Prompt #Poetry Challenge! "Freudian Slips" by Adam Dustus http://wp.me/pnd9L-23b […]

  7. Great poem Mr. Dustus :]
    and yeah, nerds who paint are totally the best!

  8. moondustwriter Says:

    ha – I’m sorry I think a woman looks ugly when she smokes and she must taste aweful

    ugg

    nicely done Adam

  9. K I think I’ve read three meanings in this already, the more I read, the more disillusioned I get with this very pretty woman smoking a Cuban! Nerds who paint are awesome🙂

    • Thanks for looking into the nuances, Shan. Appreciate that. Your 55 was fantastic. You should definitely write more. I think it’s the most fun form.🙂

  10. Nice take! Clever, funny, and nerds who paint rock!

  11. Preferring nerds who paint and lie … but then isn’t she also one?

  12. Depends on how you interpret the slips😉

  13. Tingling from both minds and lips – ooh so am I😉

  14. Bent over more than Fruedian slips …I read that several times and am still thinking it over. So layered I can’t seem to uncover it. Wow.
    Her kissy face turned me off too. I’m sorry but a woman who smokes is a turn off for me. Sorry, I just saw what it did to my mom.

  15. Love it…
    And the whole “your not my type, but I’d love write about you sometime” attitude.

  16. So many twists and turns – it’s Freudian, all right. Good one, Adam.

  17. Great job! I just submitted my first attempt at a One Shoot myself. So much fun to see everyone’s different takes on the picture!

    http://wp.me/sZXMF-victory

  18. thanks for stopping in…I was trying not to look at her…HA…looking through him, with the depth of field, seemed like a remembrance and so I did

    Peace, hp

  19. Have to agree, not my type either– but you’ve managed to pick up the beauty as well as the artificiality, and transitoriness of it all here. Last few lines really condensed and strong. And I think she may be wearing a Freudian slip.😉

  20. Ah, we were on the same track here, Adam!

    I love “smoke plumes from her kissy face.” Such a succinct description.

  21. Entertaining one, Dustus! Gave me a good laugh – and while I approve of all types, I must concur…gimme a good sexy nerd.😉 But seriously – quite a fun one, though “kissy face” just drew me right back to middle school lingo. The horror!

  22. She wouldn’t be my type either. Tobacco doesn’t make for nice kisses.

  23. betweenhearts75 Says:

    Excellent, lol and so agree with Leslie too about how awful really it is. It does look ugly. Blahh!🙂 No loss Adam, you could be too good for her maybe…lol😉 ~ Great write up for this photo prompt!🙂

  24. Nice poem and take on the picture. I hate women smokers, well I don’t like men smokers either, like someone else said, they stink, to say it mildly.

  25. So you like sexy nerds…? Word nerds?

  26. So powerful the man who sees a beautiful girl and refuses to be weakened by her allure, for all the wrong reason

  27. whoa– hold the phone, Adam– all this sexy is rubbing off on you…so to speak and as it were xxxj

  28. Grand Slam! It’s outta here folks..

  29. Interesting twists and ironies in this one! Love the ambivalanece of “nerds”!

  30. Cleverly written and brought a smile to my face. Thanks for stopping by my place – I appreciate your comment.

  31. Aah so you prefer ‘nerds’ who paint and lie? Hey Dustus I absolutely disagree..I am no nerd and I paint but hey I dont lie..umm at least I try my best not to. And when I do people around me know me so well that they know its a lie. As my ex used to say ‘drop it you are no good at lying’🙂

    • Hi budhaaah. I actually don’t prefer liars, and I would disagree with my statement too, if it were meant to be taken literally🙂

Leave a Reply

