The Artist Formerly Known as Darth Vader

Raindrops dampen four seasons
Sawing a black Stradivarius
instead of wrists
Having lost my right to joy and spring
“The Dark Side” is what I have left

Luke’s mom had channeled legal force
Citing “irreconcilable differences” for divorce
I’ve given up pride attempting to serenade her
You may call me “Busker,” or
“The Artist Formerly Known as Darth Vader”

________________
Care for a reading? 

*This poem is my response to the One Stop Poetry Sunday Picture Prompt Challenge. The prompt was shot by photographer JackAZ, featured today on One Stop Poetry.

36 Responses to “The Artist Formerly Known as Darth Vader”

  1. A spine tinglingly hard act to follow. Wow.

    (Great audio. I must try that.)

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Adam Dustus, Sophia Fine and Costis Demos, StevenMGrant. StevenMGrant said: RT @Dustus: The Artist Formerly Known as Darth Vader http://wp.me/pnd9L-29Y […]

  3. “Having lost my right to joy…” and how this short poem speaks of love in a ‘dark’ hue is well done, Adam! Thanks for sharing it.

  4. LOVE this, Adam, especially the “irreconcilable differences” and

    “Sawing a black Stradivarius instead of wrists”

    Clever and fun!

  5. Wow. Stunning response. Love the word play.

  6. This takes me to the memory of someone I wouldn’t like to talk about
    Dustus

  7. May the Force saw with thee on that bow of self-eviscerating gut.

  8. He’s standing on a street corner, playing as accompaniment to Lady Gaga. Good one, Adam.

  9. “möge die macht mit dir sein…”
    great response to the prompt – and you really sticked with darth vader..with the dark side…smiles…kudos adam

  10. absolutely brilliant and imaginative. Quite a way to fund his child support checks.

  11. ok, didn’t see that coming !…I dig the human mind !!!

    I went another direction

    Peace, hp

  12. It is always a pleasure to see where you take the prompts !!

  13. Think I might just comment “the force is strong with this one”…poor Darth, don’t you just want to give him a hug to stop him sawing his wrists? Just another misunderstood megalomaniac!

  14. What a clever take on the prompt! Even with the playful, tongue-in-cheek tone of this piece, you actually made me feel sorry for poor DV! Ha! And I think you draw this sympathy by playing the tone all the way to the end, betraying no gives. Nice!

  15. LOL great focused work.

  16. lol that was short and to the point!’channeled force’…priceless!

  17. So Darth lost his panorama mamma and had to take to the streets, eh? I’m lovin it, especially the rhyme which you seldom do but works so well here. That second line is sneaky and excellent.

  18. So clever! I loved the way you wove star wars into the music.

  19. Darth Vader appears to have regained his popularity…thanks for a fine reading of your poem…I enjoyed it.

  20. Think you’re right about DV’s popularity making a comeback. Kept hearing about how people loved the Superbowl commercial w/the small kid impersonating him.

  21. oh, i hope that’s not a stradi. it’s rainingggggggggggg…

  22. Totally captures the pain of divorce – powerful irony in the sawing of the violin “instead of wrists”. Wonderful take on the prompt.

  23. LOLOL. and your take is funny.

    Here’s the story behind my poem. I am such a nerd-of-a-different-sort, I didn’t even SEE Darth Vader. I saw street performer working to be heard for his violin playing art. I thought, “Wow. he is so courageous to be so outrageous like that. All dressed up in that black outfit like that… who is that character… oh, well. Not sure but wow. Maybe I should dress in character and do some street performing? Hmmmm.” and there you have the story behind my sympathetic poem. *thanks for your comment!*

  24. This is just outstanding storytelling. What a great take on the picture.

  25. Quite an enjoyable read…but Darth Vader leaving the dark side… that’s a tough sell. : )

  26. What fun! A great poem, so much in so little. Love, loss, struggle, mirth, self deprecation, yet, what affirmation, relished! Lovely.

  27. Fabulous! Thoroughly enjoyable and entertaining!

  28. I so so so loved that commercial! LOL classic, too funny, wonderful.

    As you can tell, I didn’t watch the football game.

    OK, now I have to go back and re-read you poem. Your “thunder” was stolen…

    …she channeled legal force! Wonderful take on the prompt.

    Now I have to go back and watch that commercial. I might steal it over to my blog…🙂

  29. Excellent poem. Love the bit about the Stradivarius, being a musician.

  30. Lol! Despite not being a Star Wars fan, this is great!]🙂
    (I surfed over via Bookstains)

  31. You must have had sooooo much fun with this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

