Knowing (One Stop Poetry Challenge)

His offering to neck
Obsession smells, Secret
Told her that he loves her
Knowing she believes him

_______________________________________________
*The above photo was taken by Lisa Michelle Arhontidis,
a talent photographer featured on One Stop Poetry today!

48 Responses to “Knowing (One Stop Poetry Challenge)”

  1. betweenhearts75 Says:

    Precious, sweet, romance! WOW! I shouldn’t be reading…this stuff, it’s midnight and I’m already a gremlin! LOL! (nor should I be writing…!!!!!!!) πŸ™‚ ~ Beautiful though!!! Well done!!!!

  2. Glad you like my attempt at a love poem, April. I think the photo looks amazing! Thanks always πŸ™‚

  3. Lovely Adam πŸ™‚

  4. moondustwriter Says:

    Knowing she believes him
    but does he????

    nice prompt Adam

    great poem as always

    Moonie smiles

  5. Skeptic! lol Cool response, moon πŸ™‚

  6. Lovely!! I love seeing my work paired with the work of another artist! Thank you for the beautiful poem!

  7. So glad you like it! It’s a beautiful photo πŸ™‚

  8. Thank you SO very much!!! πŸ™‚

  9. Short and sweet, “Knowing she believes him”

  10. AHHH… very nice, left me with a smile!

    Wysteria

  11. Smiles… but does he really know if she believes him? Well done with a great prompt.

  12. beautiful love poem — knowing she believes him! that’s lovely πŸ™‚

  13. Anita Wakeham Says:

    Beautiful Adam.

    Anita.

  14. Frankly, I think this was a hard prompt to write to in many ways—what hasn’t already been said about kissing? πŸ˜‰ But you gave an original twist (as always) to a familiar topic.

  15. obsession is one of my favorite perfumes…i could almost smell it as I read this…nice one Dustus

  16. obsession smells…wow..such few words adam and yet, you take us right into the heart to this..

  17. love the sweet obsession of this poem — very nice!

  18. But does he really love her? Perhaps this was not out of love, but perhaps she has tons of money that she in turn has, and he perhaps knows this. Very good. Here’s mine http://thelunaticsdiary.blogspot.com/2010/12/dreams-are-never-eternal.html

  19. Hmmm…what a surprise twist! And it can only come from you, from someone who has ‘knowing’.

    Thanks, Adam! Love it!

  20. Clever Adam–the artful Lover smelling her Obsession..being careful, not to make it a fatal attraction. :-).

  21. My sort of photo, I’m going to have a go later. Excellent little love poem Adam πŸ™‚

  22. Hm. I can take this one of two ways – either it is a lovely bit of romance, my friend, or there is a touch of deception going on…the last line leaves me pondering: is his love sincere, or is it all a lie? He told her, and she believes him, but does he mean it?

    Either way, short, but sweet! One can smell the obsession…apt way of looking at it.

  23. Obsession: yes, it smells, literally and otherwise.

  24. I love that last line!

  25. You’ve gotten at the ambiguity of the photo, Adam. Well done.

  26. […] Knowing (One Stop Poetry Challenge) Β« Dustus' Blog […]

  27. Dear Adam,

    This type of poetry doesn’t come naturally to me. But yours – WOW! The title itself is poetry.

    Is it cynical, truth or a question?

  28. ahhh
    you are a very cunning poet

  29. Very nice Adam…enjoyed what you did with the prompt.

  30. oh, that sweet obsession!

    sensual

  31. Hello Dustus,

    It’s beautiful… Loved the Secret Obsession

  32. I’m NOT so sure you are talking about CK’s Obsession…
    I know that smell to which you refer….G

  33. G, I’m thinking you’re not referring to the scented pun on Secret antiperspirant either. lol smiles

  34. A romantic piece of passion and love wrapped with obsession. A good job with your attempt (from your response to a comment) of a love poem. The picture is incredible. What a fabulous photographer. πŸ˜‰

  35. Nice shot – lovely combo with the pic

  36. Giovanna Coberts Says:

    Nice! Isn’t all love the dance betwen knowing and daring to hope?

  37. evocative language; a lot packed into just those four lines. Sad but true, too.

    Great to be part of OSW at last!

    Cheers mate

    Luke @ WordSalad

  38. Short ‘n sweet! (Obsession smells great!)

    By the way, I found kseverny’s blog, but I don’t see the contest post. Can you link it for me please? (Gracias!)

  39. Ooohh.. that was super sensuous.. his obsession, her naΓ―vetΓ©.. that’s quite a combination! Satiating for one, deadly for another… which is for whom, only they are to know πŸ™‚
    I really like what you did with the prompt, Adam… few words spoke a LOT there!

  40. Very sensual photo.
    Short works well with this one.
    Not sure why.
    Nice interpretation

  41. ‘Knowing she believes him…’
    You could do a follow up from her point of view with this one:-)
    Lovely photo too!
    This poem should be bottled as a perfume – called ‘knowing’
    Good Adam! Quite sensuous!

    • Great ideas, Lynda. You have me thinking of a sequel, and need to befriend a chemist who will mix up the alluring scent that is “Knowing” hehe Cheers πŸ™‚

  42. Obsession smells. Yup, that rang a bell for me. There’s nothing like the comforting smell of your loved one. Sometimes all you want to do is sniff and sniff and sniff like some kind of emotional drug addict.

    Hmmm… I wonder if I get today’s TMI award? πŸ˜›

  43. Hands down, that wins. lol Hi Tony. Thanks for the visit. Hope all is going well πŸ™‚

Leave a comment