Glass Flowers

Seasons wither tones
You’ll fade under rains
Thin wine stems break
Through hurricanes

All care required
Not sale for display
Can’t live and breathe
Without soil decay

Think true beauty
Individualistic
The one to pick
Must stand for a misfit

To some a surprise
Glass flowers can’t blush
Being fashioned artificial
They could never miss us

_______________
Care for a reading?
Share

_______________________________________

One Shot Wednesday
Post a poem, & share feedback.
*Sign Up begins at 5 pm EST today
Look forward to reading your work!

120 Responses to “Glass Flowers”

  1. betweenhearts75 Says:

    Such a wonderfully written poem Adam. Love the lines where “glass flowers can’t blush” 🙂 Get such a happier feeling in this picture however. Maybe it’s me but struck me almost like When Dorothy lands in Oz with all the munchkins, or the kids all enter the Factory with goodies in Charlie & the Chocolate Factory (the originallll – the remake creeped me, LOL) ~ Maybe I’m reading your words wrong, to me seems a fantasy, blended with knowing the truth of it all, in the last lines “Being fashioned artificial. They could never miss us.” ~ Great writing, as always Adam! 🙂 ~April

  2. Hi April. LOL the remake of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory creeps me out too! Like your interpretations. The picture does have a Wizard of Oz feel to it.
    Wasn’t thinking that when I wrote it, but now makes me think that the image would have made a good writing prompt.

    Always appreciate your thoughtful comments. cheers

    • betweenhearts75 Says:

      Had to come back and read again, still see in your wonderfully woven words something of this fantasy in glass, this beauty that widens our eyes like we would as children, bright beautiful, but glass, that can break. The sad notions in our adult lives that also know the beauty behind the seen, touched, felt within, how fragile. That’s sort of what drew me back in to read this again. (beyond my humor ~ I had to recollect thoughts :))

      Old Movie Impression Poetry would be rather fun though!

      • You’re awesome, April 🙂 and that is a great idea at the end, which means you host it on One Shot! lol Seriously though, cool idea for a theme. You said it first, and i am witness to it. lol

        Thank you 🙂

  3. vivid and perfect portrayal of glass flowers,
    beautiful image,
    enjoyed your perspective here…

    Thanks for the comments.

  4. Beautiful poem. I liked how you pointed out the fact that glass flowers are more fragile than they seem. Mother Nature has the last word, and nothing is ever certain. I totally agree with betweenhearts and you that the remake of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is creepy lol!

  5. Sometimes, I feel like a glass flower. iLove it.

  6. I like how you point out the weakness of the glass flowers…but on the other hand it would be fun to write a poem about what beauties they do have…just a reandom thought brought on by your fine poem.

  7. Thanks for all the comments!

    @Corbie …Mother Nature will always have the last word, or last laugh depending on how you look at it.

    @slp I agree… Don’t think I’ve written one along those lines in a long time. I’m about due. lol

  8. //Glass flowers can’t blush
    Being fashioned artificial
    They could never miss us// these are such amazing lines…
    so beautifull portrayed…
    brilliant write 🙂

  9. wonder where the idea to this poem came from – was it the picture? or did you have the poem first and then found the pic?
    also love the line “glass flowers don’t blush” would be nice if they did though..
    maybe that wasn’t your intention, but your poem made me want to touch a real flower that withers and is soft on the surface and imperfect and uneven…so i’ll go and hug some flowers…smiles

    • Hey Claudia… your response makes me smile. Nothing compares to what’s real, especially for the reasons you mention. Nice. Must admit that fake plants really bug me too.

      The picture came first for the this one 🙂

  10. This is a wonderful write Adam. Each word is sublime. Nice one shot. Love and Light, Sender

  11. I love the paradox in the power of your words and the fragility of the glass. It touched something deep in me. That twist of irony in the last two lines is heartbreaking. Excellent. Thanks, Gay

  12. Till now, I used to feel bad for us humans.. but after this poem, I am suddenly feeling how lucky we are, that we can feel and appreciate everything around us.. whereas those little glass flowers just sit there, still and unfeeling..

    A GEM of a poem, Adam! Thoroughly enjoyed the rhymes!!

  13. nice poem adam, superb graphic 🙂

  14. I never thought of flowers missing us, but I suppose their beauty is lost on color-blind animals.

    And what a coincidence that you wrote about glass flowers and I posted these pictures earlier today.

      • betweenhearts75 Says:

        Totally agree on Eric’s pics I had a looksie too, lol. and btw Adam if computer STAYS working, gets fixed/or I get a new computer (which right now, not so great on $, but…) whichever comes first and hopefully SOON….I would be thrilled to take up a project and/or help on OneStop…..been a rough day of things. Today computer decided not to recognize anything hitched up to it….I decided to take it apart myself (scary) somehow a temp fix, but afraid when I shut it off…it could be the end of it.

  15. Very fine, Dustus. There are a lot of layers of meaning here.

    I especially like the opening line and “thin wine stems break/ Through hurricanes”.

  16. Beautiful poem. The reading is a nice touch.

  17. I remember learning in science workshop years back , that mixing few compounds result in shapes as if budding plants ! this poem reminded me of that ..

    Real or glass, flowers always are beautiful creations 🙂 and so are your poems !!

  18. This is very inventive. Great use of picture and poem.

  19. Nice! I love “Can’t live and breathe/Without soil decay.” It’s such a beautiful way of expressing the need for shadows in order to appreciate the sun. (And very cool flowers too, even if they can’t blush.)

  20. Such an excellent contradiction in this. cleverly done.

  21. Sorry Adam, i posted my comment for the ‘Glass flowers” on the “chairs” so i apologize for the confusion, i will copy and post it again here..:)

  22. SO sweet Adam, true..i never loved artificial anything by the way, i hardly even take pills eventho are made of natural herbs orginally, but roses should be bare, raw, scented and expressive ..just natural..love your poem..and its depth..;)
    cheers from septemberic Cairo..:)

  23. hey adam…happy one shot…your words flow like that glass…you catch me right away in that first stanza…i wonder do glass flowers feel cheap, being an imitation, yes both are so fragile and the real one passes so quickly this time of year…i guess they each have their weaknesses…

  24. I love your idea that perhaps real flowers do miss us unlike the glass ones. Very nicely done!

    Mine is here. http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com/2010/09/21/moon-over-the-corn/

  25. You convey the fragile state of the flowers so well here.

  26. Very well written. Sometimes glass flowers are works of art. Maybe they do blush, but we can’t see that..:D

    I loved your rhyming.

    ode to un-puntuated verses

  27. So full of depth and must admit I also don’t like anything fake..loved the 3rd stanza Adam. Nicely wielded pen here as ALWAYS!!! Hugs xx

  28. “Individualistic”

    I love that word.
    I love your poem.
    I hope that all is happy and bright
    At your home.
    😎

  29. signed .............bkm Says:

    fashioned artificial….reminds me of some people….nice one shot Dustus…bkm

  30. Glass flowers can’t blush, but if by some random chance they crush, you can make a beautiful mosaic!

  31. love the line “glass flowers don’t blush” terrific write

  32. True beauty – a misfit, what an idea… loved it
    Very interesting to make an inanimate object come alive with metaphorical “They could never miss us”

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya

  33. This was so neat taking delicate blooms to a whole different level!

  34. Lovely. This touches a melancholy side of me. To fade and wither without ever having known the bittersweet feeling of missing someone is sad, but I remind myself these are artificial blossoms. Or maybe your message is that artificial anything is devoid of meaning. Either way, it speaks to me.

    Thank you for sharing gorgeous words.

  35. I love it. Lol 🙂

  36. So vivid, such beauty. Contradiction, depth, and such delicacy…great work, to the very end.

  37. An interesting mix of the artificial and real. You never fail to provoke thought. Thanks for the One Shot.

  38. There is nothing like the real thing… now if we can keep your poem in mind, perhaps we would been more mindful preserving mother earth,

    Nice vivid words, paints a strong picture.

    Joanny

  39. an imitation yes, but still beautiful in itself.

    excellent writing!

  40. I love it, it is as thought there is a real reality and the the alternate reality (Watched too much Fringe again, sorry XD), same yet different in so many ways, thought they both look exactly the same, deep down, one difference can make a big difference, like how glass flower are been compared to the real one…not every beauty in this world surface up to be consider “beautiful” 🙂

  41. Really like the conclusion you draw from your comment. Well said 🙂

  42. I guess I’m looking at this a bit differently..
    In my opinion…
    Glass Flowers are Immortal.
    I also love your vocals…Great Job Adam

  43. Wonderful write as always Adam and i also felt like i was in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and that the glass flowers anytime may come alive. True we won’t miss them after all they’re not real flowers. Made me think of how we get attached to fake things when in reality they serve little purpose in our lives. Great one shot 🙂

  44. LOL Illusions can often seem more real than mundane happenings. Still think that remake of Charlie and the Chocolate factory was creepy. lol Great comment. Thanks, Julliette 🙂 Always appreciate your visit

  45. As was once said this is not a flower( well actually said about a cigar) so its interesting to explore what it is. Thanks for reading and commenting on my poem. Hope your week goes well.

  46. there was such sadness in this piece…..artificial love, the fakeness that exists in the world…as always a great one shot…cheers pete

  47. An enjoyable read. A true poet or artist can find something often overlooked, forgotten or even not even thought of and mold it into something intriguing, unforgettable. Though fake flowers are nothing like the real thing, yet still you managed to craft realism into them.

  48. True beauty… who defines that I was wondering?

    🙂 Very nice… thou they cannot blush still they look pretty fine for the not so critic eyes.

  49. Great comment, Lu Ann! How do we define anything really when it comes to a subjective term, or in this case a combination of two, or even words we use each day? We have examples of it that are somewhat agreed upon, seldom without dissent of course. Depends on one’s individual notions of the language we use and cannot precisely define. Artists have been trying for centuries to explain such abstract concepts.

    We all have preferences—makes us human 🙂 I really appreciate your feedback
    cheers

  50. Teriffic poem Adam. Great imagery. Like how you played off artificial aspect of the flowers in that they are beautiful and they can “live and breathe without soil decay” but “they could never miss us.” Ultimately, they are not alive and are truly pale imitations of real flowers, real living creatures.
    Nice comment on the artificial aspects of our society many times putting things, materialistic creations above living, breathing ones.
    Thanks again,

    George

    • By George I think you’ve got it! lol Always wanted to say that to someone named George. Forgive me and thank you for taking time to read my work. cheers

  51. I think you were inspired when you wrote the first stanza, but then didn’t know what to do or where to take it. The first stanza is strong, the rest is forgettable.

  52. BTW, accidental or not, scan out the meter in that first stanza: good stuff in there.

  53. This gets better after every time I read it.

  54. Awesome.
    Glass flowers. lol
    Put a very interesting image in my mind

  55. I believe that simple poems are the most difficult to write; well, at least they are the most difficult to write well. When well-written, they have a beauty and delicacy about them. The words color, and whisper. The form you chose, soft words, and delicately-balanced meter mirrors the glass of the flowers very well. Nicely done.

    • Bill, you make points about short poems that I definitely agree with, and continue to attempt due to the challenge involved. Thank you for your kind comment 🙂

  56. my mother had glass flowers on her dining room table
    i often think of them….what happened to them
    But I never thought about them not missing me
    I guess that’s a good thing
    they probably landed in the trash…..
    not a good place for a sentimental flower to be

  57. Glass flowers. I really did not expect such a topic, and it has knocked me off balance a bit.

    This poem has stirred something within…and I cannot quite touch it.

    A sense of sadness, loss, as well as beautify that is only made more ethreal and wonder-full due to sadness and loss…I am just processing triggered feelings in this comment…Don’t mind me!

    I am so glad to have met you, btw…

    this write is good looking!!!!

  58. Wonderful picture and poem. I think I prefer the real thing – even if they are a bit flawed and fragile!

  59. If glass flowers grew large enough to hit the glass ceiling, what would break first? The flowers or the ceiling?

    Why am I asking such a dumb question when I’ve read such a fine poem? 😛

  60. I feel the glass flowers sit pretty the whole day and we hardly read what’s in their heart..!!
    Very beautifully expressed.. they being so myriad, we never miss to notice- but only outwardly. We never read their minds..

    Wishing you a great weekend..

  61. Hi Olivia. Thanks for reading my work 🙂 Have a great weekend too. I definitely will—get to see my niece tomorrow and very excited! 🙂

  62. Wow…this was pretty interesting…I like the whole glass flower and the way you painted the artificiality about it…the pix is cool as well.

    Great week ahead, to you.

    Cheers!

  63. Hi Em! Sorry for the delay in responding just got back from a long road trip. Always appreciate you visiting! cheers, friend

  64. Thin wine stems break
    Through hurricanes….

    I love the glass flowers and the poem! You describe the artificiality and the brittleness and fragility very well!

    Glass flowers can’t blush..
    thats a great line:)

  65. The appeal of the glass flowers, the ones in the pic, has grown on me a little since writing this one. lol Always great to read your comments, Lynda 🙂

Leave a comment