Fall Again

It’s because we fall again
After summer’s glow
Awakens feelings in time
You know

Resistance cannot understand
Veins like maps on leaves and hands
Folded, covered by the land
Awaiting autumn, life felt grand
So much love I cannot stand

Decomposing soil states
Absorbing matter after breaks
In all glory seldom late
Perhaps an early heated space

Taking this moment
Fate peaks in stead
Fall again
To be human

Cherished gifts float peacefully brief
Nature rains confetti streams
From under earth soon harvesting
Growth through cold air
Inspiring

_______________
Care for a Reading?
Happy One Shot Poetry Wednesday!
(*photo taken in Northport, MI)

Share/Bookmark

87 Responses to “Fall Again”

  1. There is a coolness that hits in the mornings now. Suits me just fine. Grea one Shot, Dustus. I am also up with one.

  2. moondustwriter Says:

    Wonder how many poems are going to address the weather?

    I feel that change in the seasons as I read your piece. Would love to climb up into that hideaway and read a good book.

    Thanks Adam
    here’s to another great One Shot

    Moon Beams

    • Hey Moon Beams, lol, I’m not sure if that’s part of a coffee shop of not. Either way, a very cool foliage-covered nook. I wouldn’t mind a good read there too. Appreciate you hosting this week 🙂

  3. You’ve captured the cycles of nature in this. Perfect.

  4. Beautiful flow in this piece, easy transitions and vivid images

  5. That was great!! It made me wish fall was here already.

    • Hey Peter! Fall seems to arrive a bit quicker in Mid-MI than in NJ. One of my favorite seasons. Hope all is well 🙂 thanks for stopping by. cheers

  6. a beautiful piece which would have done well in the One Shot Autumn competition…loved the image again Adam..but special mention to this verse

    Decomposing soil states
    Absorbing matter after breaks
    In all glory seldom late
    Perhaps an early heated space

    excellent and well done my friend…pete

  7. It’s going to be cool to see what people post for the autumn theme. Looking forward to it! Always enjoy what the One Shoot participants do with the photo prompts, so the submissions for Fall theme will most likely be outstanding. Thanks, Pete

  8. Beautiful poem. I read it a couple of times. Nice the way you subtly tie the changing of the season with the aging observer. Another year and another cool observant time. School starting once more and we trace the autumns of our lives. Rhyme scheme worked very well, too. Thanks for this.

  9. This was lovely and lyrical. I love the comparison between humans and nature. We’ve had a taste of autumn the last few days. It’s very welcome after the intense heat.

  10. Isn’t it interesting how the weather and seasons are reflected in the poetry we write? After two in a row, I’m expecting to find weather reports scattered throughout this week’s offerings. I love the feeling of “the natural order of things” running through our poem. It feels like all is right with the world.

    • “I love the feeling of ‘the natural order of things’ running through our poem. It feels like all is right with the world.” That’s a great feeling to behold, Pattiken. Thanks

  11. I found myself reading this over and over again. So beautiful!

  12. soulintention: signed .............bkm Says:

    that time is falling upon us again and the long sleep – it is a reflective time of year….and you say it well here…bkm

  13. Hi ..bkm. The long, reflective sleep. Certainly feels that way many days when this time falls upon us. thanks

  14. fall is my favorite time of year…all the color and that crisp morning air…to fall is human…smiles. spring will come soon enough with new life. nice oneshot adam!

  15. I really REALLY like this one!

  16. “Veins like maps on leaves and hands”

    That’s a gorgeous line.

  17. nature is always an inspiration Adam,and you capture it perfectly! felt at peace reading your poem..total bliss..:)))

    • Hi Abeer! Nature is definitely always an inspiration—certainly affects moods. Glad you find peace in it. Makes me happy knowing that 🙂

  18. I love how rhythm and sound work together in your poetry. Then in this poem, everything became gentler and resolved in the last stanza. Well done. = Bill

    • Great you mention that last stanza, Bill. Thanks. Lately I’ve been a little freer about leaving things open for interpretation, probably from writing 55s. Anyway, this one I think has a clear resolution different from my last couple of posts. Glad your enjoying the poetry. cheers

  19. It’s because we fall again….lovely line
    and you paid off with a beautiful poem

  20. Thanks, Suz 🙂 Great to see you again for the Wednesday festivities. Happy One Shot!

  21. Nice one, Adam. The interplay of human and nature (the veins of leaves like the veins of hands) is beautiful.

  22. Wonderful! The very last made me want to make a pile of leaves to jump in! You’re the first one to make me really start to look forward to fall. Well done.

    Mine is here: http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com/2010/08/24/flood/

  23. This reads like a song or a hymn to nature. It’ssmooth. Beautiful photo.

    • A hymn to nature… hadn’t thought of it that way. Sounds kinda of nice. thanks, Leslie. Really nice town where the photo was taken.

  24. Wow…… lovely writing =)

  25. thank you, Harshika 🙂

  26. I’m so impressed – you’ve so many comments yet manage to reply to nearly every one of them. I really enjoyed the weather theme – its so hard to ignore the coming cool.

    The form of your poems intruiges me – it is difficult to do, at least for me and yet you do it so well. Nice!

  27. Thanks, Justin. I’ve always been drawn to music lyrics and reading poetry. About commenting, I feel that if someone is going to take time to comment on something I wrote, I want to say thanks. Nobody has to comment, and that proved true when I began blogging. Lol.
    Cheers

  28. Charming and lyrical, I see many people musing on the weather. Here we are waiting for the rains that will herald the onset of spring.

    • Wow, South Africa and Michigan are a little bit different, Cin. lol I’m sure I’ll have some snowstorm pics up on the blog while spring is underway by you 🙂

  29. Loved the way you molded and shaped both meanings of the word ‘fall’ into this poem, Adam.. very cleverly done!!
    Without a fall, one would never know what it is to rise…
    Without Fall, one would never appreciate Spring…

    A lovely One Shot, A…

    • Hey Kavita! “Without a fall, one would never know what it is to rise…” Like that. reminds me of enjoying a personal success after learning through great failure 🙂
      Cheers.

  30. Should be a song Adam…beautifully written. Great One Shot ~ Hugs

    • I would love to write song lyrics! Wouldn’t sing them ever though. lol Too shy with a singing voice fit for howling. Have a great day, Amanda 🙂 thanks

  31. Autumn is my favorite season with the beautiful leave changes and brisk air. You did a good job using the word fall a couple of ways. A nice flow to the poem. 🙂

    • Fall’s a great time of year. I always perk up a bit as it approaches. Dog days of summer can seem tedious after a while—a welcome change 🙂
      cheers

  32. Ah yes, autumn. My favourite month of the year. Reading this gets me all eager to see her return, Adam. Alas, we’re currently entering into spring down here in the southern hemisphere… so a bit longer to wait then. 😛

  33. Hi Tony! Yeah, I’d say you’ve a while to wait before fall arrives there again. I like all the seasons, each one has something about it that gets me psyched for a change. cheers

  34. Love this stanza…

    Taking this moment
    Fate peaks in stead
    Fall again
    To be human

    To me this is one of the most well crafted stanzas I have read in the last week. Thanks Dustus…

  35. Thanks for reminding me (and everyone else) why the fall is so grand!

  36. Appreciate that, Eric. Happy Wednesday to you!

  37. Interesting range and pattern of rhymes in the poem.Thanks for dropping by and commenting on my poem The final seaside trip. I hope you have a good week!

  38. You have a great week as well! Thanks for your feedback.

  39. Interesting form. Well crafted. Great seasonal piece…really feel the cycle. The personification of nature is beautifully done, and the whole thing is cleverly done. Great one shot, Dustus!

    • Hey Chris. Welcome back for another excellent Wednesday! Appreciate your kind comment. Thanks for the thoughtful One Shot Mentions on Twitter as well. Very kind of you. Cheers

  40. I love fall, and I love your poem that capture the beauty of fall so well. Great job Adam.

  41. Always makes me smile when I see you’ve stopped by, Viola 🙂 warmest
    regards to you and your family

  42. your poem makes me wanna fall…raining like confetti streams…
    great poem adam – i can hear the rustling of the leaves when i read – and listen – to this piece

  43. Thanks for all the kind encouragement, and for helping to make One Stop/Shot great with your posts, Claudia. We all appreciate it 🙂

  44. love the fall… love it more after reading your fresh piece….
    gr8 work…refreshing!!

    viva la vida 🙂

  45. Cool breezes this evening in these parts. Definitely refreshing!
    Viva la Vidal 🙂 thanks Anky

  46. Fall where I am now is not much different than winter…but your poem brought to mind my years in New England…thanks.

  47. Fall in New England is wonderful. An old college friend of mine lives in Cambridge and I try to plan my visit to Beantown around this time. Cheers, Charles 🙂

  48. I wasn’t ready, but you’ve prepared me well for fall.

    “Growth through cold air.” I like that. We need those times, too.

  49. Beautiful poem once again. I liked how you connected the passage of time with the seasons.

  50. Thanks, Sandra. Fall is definitely on it’s way, so enjoy these last days of summer!

  51. Hi Corbie. Glad you enjoyed the poem. Speaking of time passing, seems like summer flew by. Guess it appears quicker as I get older. Thanks for commenting:)

  52. Beautuful stuff, Adam. I love the rhythm and how it changes. And what is that place in the picture? I love it!

    • Shay! Think that’s the side of a coffee/pastery shop, or right next to one. Not sure cause I didn’t go inside; already had my fill (and refill) of caffeine that afternoon. lol
      Wanted to take a picture because I love old mills and the wheel looks pretty cool hidden there 🙂

  53. You captured Autumn, in it’s finest glory and beauty. Great play and rythme with words. thanks for sharing. Donusho.

  54. Appreciate you stopping by and leaving comment, Donusho. Glad you liked it. Autumn is certainly glorious and beautiful. Cheers!

  55. Autumn is my favorite season (all those gorgeous colours). A lovely poem – love these lines;-

    Resistance cannot understand
    Veins like maps on leaves and hands

    This applies to life too and the aging procress as we enter new phases of our life. Change is inevitable. Good poem!

  56. Hi Lynda. Can’t wait until all the colors bloom soon. Looking forward to that change 🙂

  57. Dustus, love the metaphors in this poem. The fall, I always felt early darkness (gloomy) but you painted a nice picture for me. great…

  58. Great post yesterday for One Shot. Glad you’re a part of it 🙂

  59. I want to live in that picture. “veins like maps on leaves and hands” great line. Seasons of human life and nature’s four seasons are so similiar.

  60. It does look like a nice place to live, especially during summer into fall. That would be nice 🙂

  61. serenemusings Says:

    Lovely words and a delightful picture too!
    Suja

  62. Ah, this brought back autumn on the east coast of the United States … lovely. West coast (California) boringly consistent … I enjoyed this for its artistry and for the memory of – for me – another time and place.

    Good job ….Thanks!

  63. Feel kind of refreshing after reading this poem 😀 the imagery in the poem is just amazing!:D~

Leave a comment