Much More Than Might

Dare I ask?
Unmask my mind
Which you have read
And found fault lines

Caring shared
Uncertain why
Depression lingers
Holds back time

Cloudcover stretch
Harboring blue skies
Flashflooding brainstorms
Tide rose from sunshine

Knowing matters
Scared of heights
Holding hands
While taking flight

Anything possible
Limits turn right
As if called by a spirit
Much more than might

________________
*photo by Kim Lennox

35 Responses to “Much More Than Might”

  1. much more than might,
    life is full of possibilities,
    hope that your day goes well!

    I hear the tingle of your WORDS.
    awesome poem!

    • Things are going alright. It’s been an emotional time for me lately. I’m not sure what I would do if I couldn’t write. Thanks, Jingle. Have a great weekend!

  2. i can relate to this one.
    Great as usual

  3. I think that your talent and abilities come from within a place that is empathetic to the world. That is sometimes a heavy feeling. I know. Use your humor in your words to make the world happier, and you will see amazing changes in your mood! πŸ™‚

  4. Somehow I missed this poem yesterday…I loved it very much…I like the part about about “fault lines”…very clever. Along the lines of what Doraz said…I recall that someone once asked Tom Lerhrer why he stopped recording his comedy songs…he stated that he couldn’t find anything funny to sing about…I thought how sad…such a talent wasted because he took it all too serious…laughter is the medicine that keeps us balanced in life.

    • Thanks so much, Everyone. I take to heart the advice, feedback, criticisms, and encouragement you’ve shared. You all have my respect and have prompted me to look at things differently πŸ™‚

  5. I liked “flashflooding brainstorms”….having two long words adds extra meaning.

  6. ‘Flashflooding brainstorms’ – Wow!

    Lovely poetry as always, dustus.

    Have you tried the chaiku? Could be a good style for you! (Four-line stanzas, four syllables per line)

    Hope you’re well.

    Corra

    from the desk of a writer (I moved my blog! I’m at WordPress now.)

    • Hi Corra. Thanks. I’ll try that. I enjoy experimenting with forms. Like what you did with your blog. WordPress is a great platform. Enjoy πŸ™‚

  7. Darling, I am doing a tribute for William,
    for his 6oth birthday,
    come and greet him?

    http://justmeshakirack.blogspot.com/2010/02/happy-best-day-william.html

    hugs
    shakira

  8. Sure. Enjoy the day, shakira πŸ™‚

  9. wow this site is great, glad you found me otherwise I could not view your works. I love the combination of visual stimuli and lovely structured poems. not often one can write about depression without feeling sorry for themselves. you do this with ease

    • Extremely nice of you to visit. Writing poetry is a great help through tough times. You can find strength in your darkest hours (not always easy, but true). Thanks πŸ™‚

  10. nicely done…those last two lines carry a lot of weight…

  11. I enjoy your poetry very much. Thanks πŸ™‚

  12. Great poem! The ‘scared of heights – ‘holding hands whilst taking flight’ verse conjures up a lovely Marc Chagall type image for me. Good!

  13. Hi Dustus

    Thanks for visiting my blog. You have a very good blog here. I guess writing is your passion, ya?

    If you have the time, do drop in on my friend’s blog.Her name is Shakira. Also a very good writer πŸ™‚ Here is the link to her blog http://justmeshakirack.blogspot.com/2010/02/sunday-160-husband-and-wife_28.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+YouAreNeverAlone+%28YOU+ARE+NEVER+ALONE!%29

    • Hi and thank you. Yes, I enjoy writing very much. I think graphic art is probably my favorite passion, and writing plays a part in the fun of that πŸ™‚ Also, I do know shakira. She is an awesome person. Enjoy your day.

  14. hi friend, firstly THANK YOU for your kind wishes on my birthday appreciate that, secondly I can empathize with this one, its not easy trying to cope with depression, good days seem far away, u are doing well coping πŸ™‚

  15. Hope you are having an excellent birthday, my friend πŸ™‚ Thank you

  16. Darling, I really want to thank you ,
    from the very bottom of my heart,
    for coming over to wish William for his birthday tribute.

    He was so thrilled and this cannot be done without YOU!

    You ROCK!

    On another note,
    Adam I am so happy that you are with us more,
    writing such lovely poems,
    words are so precious ,
    and you are so gifted.
    Words never failed me
    and I am sure you know that.
    Being depressed , is part of living right?
    When we do not feel down,
    how can we ever know how to feel happy?
    Bad times do not last.

    Are you an uncle already?
    If so, CONGRATULATIONS!

    Have you a great week.

    hugs
    shakira

  17. Hi shakira. Thank you πŸ™‚ Wise words.

    I’m not a fan of societal exclusion in any form. Judging by everyone’s posts and willingness to share their thoughts and cheer; well, that’s motivating beyond anything previous in my life.

    Everyone’s willingness to reach out to others establishes a community like nothing else I’ve seen or have been a part of on- or offline. As a writer, this is the opposite of what the last ten years of my life have been like; up to and including recent rejections. I am so very grateful for the opportunity for my work to be read. I can’t express how appreciative I am for the time and care people take in replies and comments.

    My family still waits for my cousin to go into labor. I guess she already has her uncle’s stubbornness lol I’ll be happy to announce it soon after it happens.

    hugs πŸ™‚

  18. Happy March 1st.
    keep oneself with positive thinking, it feels better.

  19. doubtfulpoet Says:

    I absolutely loved the imagery you used to describe the tumult of the mind here Adam, happy St David’s day-March the 1st is the day of St David in Wales he is the patron saint of all us Welshies πŸ˜‰

  20. Hi, I am so glad you visited my blog because it has lead me to yours ! I love your poetry. I feel we are on a similar wave length. I sense much empathy and integrity in your words. I’ve added you to my Blog Roll and plan to return !

    Colleen

    • Thank you, Colleen! You have a great site. I’ll be sure to add you to my blog roll. Appreciate your kind words πŸ™‚

  21. now you got me really with that one!!!!!!! it is so awesome! and yea,i can feel it and feel you writing it. i m so grateful to my blog that got me to read you..keep writing cos that is one thing that has really SAVED my life one day..:)

  22. I will definitely keep writing, and I’m sure you will too. I appreciate all the kind things you have said. Thank you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

