The Torch

Divided by distant land
Bold beacon raised fire
Handle sparkling water
Desire reaching higher

Into fair morning
Vintage glowing sky
Breathing aware
Most subtle glare
Cooling mist
Calming air

As I stand in awe
Click a photo for all
Nothing like being
Thought pressing pause

The torch of light
Soon handing over noon
Thinking there is more to life
Searching through forgotten truth

_______________
Care for a Reading?

Share/Bookmark

_______________________
Ready to take your One Shot?
One Shot Wedenesday
, post a poem and come join us!
It opens at 5pm EST tonight.

81 Responses to “The Torch”

  1. betweenhearts75 Says:

    This is beautifully written Adam, and I love the photograph. “Searching through forgotten truth” such a wonderful line speaks well for so many of us, poignant. I love the blend within that holds something within of the sunrise in morning. Very nice!

    • Thanks, April. It’s another week of one shot. I’m all set, but those people running the thing just don’t have their act together. lol Seriously, do join us 🙂

      • betweenhearts75 Says:

        LOL, Adam! Certainly would like to get in there. In the process of some illustrations for some friends…plus writing too. For the life of me I cannot draw animals, my hamster looks like an evil mini fox!!! Rofl! Hopefully I can pop in later, but not sure if and when yet, if I can! Would love to post one of my more favored poems…and I will however get around to reading this evening (I hope..busy busy *sigh) =)) ~April

  2. moondustwriter Says:

    Oooo there is passion, hope, and nature. Ever think of writing poetry for One Stop????

    Love to you Adam

    hope your week is going well!!!!

  3. LOL Still thinking about it… hmm… okay, I’m in! lol
    cheers, L

  4. wonderful write dustus…love the moment you captured there hanging us in the moment of the picture…and the search for truth is a brilliant end. happy one shot wednesday!

  5. A moment full of all life. Beautiful.

  6. Just saw that you signed up, Anthony. As always, looking forward to reading your post. thanks

    Hey Folks, sign up for One Shot Wednesday @ http://oneshotpoetry.blogspot.com/
    thanks!

  7. Beautiful photograph and perfect capture of thought and word to bring it to life.

  8. I am a torch worshipper, so I loved this poem. Very well written.

  9. soulintention: signed .............bkm Says:

    Love the Thought pressing pause -line…very nice with the torch analogy…bkm

  10. beautiful image and beautiful words…love the reflections represented in both!

  11. I love the image paired with “Bold beacon raised fire”. That is an incredible combination of words. It would be fun to offer that phrase for a group of artists to illustrate in their own way. Very cool.

    • Illustration prompt? Hmm… that sounds like a great idea. Usually it’s the visual prompting the words, well at least it seems that way to me. With one exception, a pointillist painter group liked a poem I wrote about the perception of color…

      You might like this one, Leslie. They said it was a good prompt:

      Visual Waves

  12. Nothing like being… searching through forgotten truth…these are the lines that stood out to me as you stood before the reflecting sun torch feeling it’s beauty and power( that you so eloquently captured in 3 ways…words, voice and image:)) Absolutely lovely, Adam. Thank you for sharing. Heartspell

    • When younger, I used to read Homer and think about how beautiful the descriptions of the sunrise was. I would think it was exaggerated. Maybe my vision was off a bit back then. Now I just think it’s amazing that the sun can look like a torch on the water.

      Thanks, Heartspell.

  13. Melancholy and hope wrapped up together in one shining moment. Stunning photograph!

  14. Lovely captured moment.

  15. Lovely poem! I especially like the imagery in the first stanza, and how it so perfectly describes the picture.

  16. JExcellent image and poem ….both are just lovely…well crafted poem.

  17. Adam, this one was absolutely mind blowing!!! I am a HUGE fan of sunsets.. I think they can speak to us.. in ways that no-one/nothing else can! The Sun takes on a calmer avatar, and soothes our minds with his mere presence..
    And your beautiful poem with its simple truths, along with the breathtaking photograph, do full justice to that amazing thing called Sunset !! Clicking this one is a tiny achievement by itself!
    Bravo !!!!

    • I feel the same way about sunsets and sunrises, Kavita. thank you for all the kind comments about photos and writing. You’re a heck of a talented poet and incredibly kind 🙂
      cheers

  18. This is a beautiful piece there is such hope blinking between your lines as well as sadness. I’m new to One SHot Wednesdays but yet again I am blown away by the talent that I have come across

    • Nice to meet you, Gwei, & great that you decided to participate. Was just at your site. Enjoyed listening and reading your work. I agree with you about the talent. Always glad to hear someone else say that. lol
      Cheers

  19. ladynimue Says:

    awesome pic and amazing words .. so soothing it a way ! liked it 🙂

  20. Hi Adam you have done it again…a great poem accompanying a great photo..you really have captured a niche here!! excellent work Pete

    • Thanks, Pete. Looking forward to hosting next week… look out! lol
      Enjoy your break. Well deserved. You’ve done so much to get One Stop Poetry off the ground.
      cheers 🙂

  21. nice poem 🙂

  22. Fabulous poem to go with that fabulous image, Adam! The words and the image complement each other nicely. 🙂

  23. I wasn’t expecting to read anything less. Outstanding work and lovely pic.

  24. Great poem and imagery. I especially enjoyed the last two lines. 🙂

  25. Thank you for being a part of One Shot. Glad you like the poem
    Cheers 🙂

  26. What beauty lies behind the daily rise and fall of that great fire…
    Your poem and your photograph compliment one another perfectly. Both are beautiful–they capture a moment, at once soothing and breathtaking. Fantastic.

  27. love the shape of this Adam! I also love the morning dawn rising and the pause it gives. Beautiful

  28. Great to see you partaking in One Shot Poetry, Katherine! Also, thanks for your comments. Cheers 🙂

  29. So beautiful and peaceful and passionate
    ..nothing like being, thought pressing pause…
    If you mean a pause button like you have on TV – I say: yes-yes-yes
    There are moments in life, that would deserve a pause button – and a replay button – to enjoy again and again.
    It’s so good that I need nothing of it – just my eyes – to read your poem again – and again – and again..
    Thanks Dustus!

    • Hi Claudia. I was thinking of the pause button on a TV remote control. That’s kind of how I think of the camera, as if it creates a freeze frame of everything in view through a click. Some moments definitely deserve to be paused. Thanks for your really nice comment 🙂

  30. What a beautiful poem. It’s not often that we stand back, look at nature and the truths that it holds. Fantastic photo as well. Can’t wait to see what other poems you write in the future.

    • Wish I had more time to stand back and enjoy nature. With the exception of rally’s and One Shot Wednesday, I’d like to not use my computer as much. Maybe go hiking or something. Thanks Corbie 🙂

  31. thank you for putting me in a photographers shoes.

    smiles,

  32. Another striking masterpiece Adam..! loved it..cheers my friend..:) if only we can pause moments in life..it would be great,but eh..life always goes on!

    • I am so glad that you have become part of OSW’s, Abeer.
      Life keeps going whether we pause or not. Very true and happy to see you having fun with peers. Awesome!

  33. mairmusic Says:

    The words and photo mirror the beauty of nature at its most exquisite. Nicely done!
    http://mairmusic.wordpress.com/

  34. Thanks, M. Enjoyed your poem very much today 🙂

  35. This was lovely words! The pic outstanding. Thanks for sharing

  36. Doni Cifra Says:

    adam… delicious, as always. 🙂

    what a great inspiration that image is.

  37. Thanks, Doni. You have a great way of rhyming and structuring your poems. Glad you’re part of One Shot Wednesday, my friend. Write On!

  38. I think that the image and poem are right on. 🙂 This has got to be another one of my favorites. Keep up the wonderful writing you are doing. Thanks.

  39. Press and pause . . . holding my breath . . . then forgotten truth. Rather like Life, eh? Somewhere between is high noon . . . when we cast no shadow. Well, I seem to have missed that. The shadow side is till strong. Phew! Fine work, Adam. Like it. 🙂

  40. Wonderful write Adam, seems like the torch is guiding you to some past secrets. Loved reading it, thanks for sharing it~

    Wild Rose~

  41. Thanks, Julliette “Wild Rose”
    Keep writing and inspiring through your artistry 🙂
    cheers

  42. Of course you have always been good but your poetry is getting better and better every time I read it. Love this one as I do everything you write. Update on Larry.

    http://billmanson.blogspot.com/2010/07/update-on-larry.html

  43. Beautiful photo, and another wonderful poem to go along. It’s always a learning experience visiting here. Enjoyable.

    Tracy H

    • Humbled by your comment, Tracy. Glad you’r eenjoying the learning process of sharing through blogging 🙂

  44. You do take some wonderful photo’s Adam! This atmospheric one goes hand in glove with the poem. I love the ‘vintage glowing sky’ and the mood of awe in that moment which you captured both the poem and the photo. Good!!!

  45. Hi Linda! Always glad when you like my posts. Makes me think I’m doing something right artistically. The image reminds me of how wonderful certain moments are when awake and open-eyed. The awe mood of the scene is what I appreciate most too. Thanks 🙂

  46. the photograph and the words- both are pure magic.

  47. Love the image.

  48. Glad to see your Flickr page last visit to your site. The blog is becoming a great multimedia outlet for you, L. http://lawrenceez.wordpress.com/
    Write on! (and make music too!)

  49. Thanks! Really hoping to develop the multimedia side of things.

  50. This poem provides a striking vivid image, as the poem provides a thought provoking metaphor for the sun. I love the use of metaphors in poetry like this; infact, here are some of my favourite examples of metaphor poems.

Leave a comment